OK.. massive workflow overhaul: Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by DrDoug, Sep 4, 2011.

1. DrDoug macrumors member

OK. I am a keen amateur and the amount that I shoot is going up up up.

Until now, I have been using my Canon 500D in JPEG mode most of the time (casual shots etc) and JPEG+RAW for special occasions (on safari etc).
    I use iPhoto for organising, and PS CS5/Bridge if I want to play with a RAW image (not often). Library is expanding, so have decided to change things up and get more serious.

1. Will change to lightroom or aperture. (prob Aperture, so iPhoto library import is easier)
    2. Will start to use RAW as a default.

so my questions are:

1. If I just shoot in RAW and import into Aperture, will I have to convert all photos to JPEG in order to be able to easily browse through folders etc, or do I only need to convert for exporting etc.
    2. Is there any advantage to JPEG+RAW mode? could I use this mode, importing everything in JPEG, but only selected RAW images (the ones I know I will want to tinker with - perhaps one in five)

overall, just an Idea of how people in similar positions handle their images would be much appreciated. Dont really know the practical implications (downsides) of RAW shooting.

Many thanks
    Doug

(sorry for any naivety here, I am looking for advice, not sarcasm)

2. acearchie macrumors 68040

acearchie

I am no pro but I can share the workflow that I currently use.

I shoot on a 600d always in RAW mode.

I have both Aperture and Lightroom but at the moment I am using lightroom for my digital photos.

In both Aperture and Lightroom I believe they create thumbnail previews for each photo so it's not loading the RAW file all the time. This negates the need to have a JPEG & RAW of the same files.