OK so I know this is easy but...

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Devian, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. Devian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Old iPhone, newer MacBookpro. Can't load music to my phone from my comp. Trying to figure out how to do it. Help!! :confused:
     
  2. Devian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    iTunes is recognizing it, just wont let me add music off the new laptop
     
  3. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #4
    In iTunes: When you click the device (the iPhone) is the "Sync Music" box checked?

    Screen Shot 2012-04-14 at 5.29.57 PM.png

    In this case it obviously is not checked.
     
  4. Devian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    It was. When I checked it, iTunes said it would erase all the music I already have on my phone. I'd really rather not do that.
     
  5. matbook101 macrumors 6502

    matbook101

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Location:
    In the secret land of Cupertino.
    #6
    That's just to bad because it's the only way.
     
  6. TwinCities Dan macrumors 603

    TwinCities Dan

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Location:
    Double Parked out front of the Courthouse
    #7
    Ah, no. Please don't spread misinformation. :rolleyes:

    To the OP: Apple doesn't really want you doing that but there are many alternative methods listed here.
     
  7. JMG macrumors 6502a

    JMG

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #8
    No it's not. You don't have to have the sync box checked to drop music onto your iPhone. Actually it's the opposite. If it is checked you can only add or delete tracks if they are conditionally set to according to the sync settings. Ie certain playlists etc. If it is not checked you can just drop music in, generally.

    Devian, we need more info. Has it worked in the past? What method are you using to add music? Is the iPhone synced to another computer? Error messages?
     
  8. Devian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #9
    Thanks for the help guys but I just decided to erase and add. I had all my music backed up externally before I got the new(er) laptop so its all good. Thanks though.
     

Share This Page