Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MBPUnibody

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 13, 2009
Hey all!

Right ok so after much deliberation in my mind I decided today to pay the 'Apple Tax' and bought a 2.66 MBP and kept everthing pretty much standard just configured the hard drive to ship with a 320GB @ 7200rpm...and signed up to the Apple Care because I don't plan on doing any DIY on this unibody baby... I am not a total noob when it comes to ICT I have built my own Windows based PC in the past...but when it comes to Apple's stuff I think it is best to leave them to it (unless it's a RAM upgrade or something very straightforward)

Now ... what I like to do when I get a new machine (windows based) is clear all the disgusting fungus that it comes shipped with and essentially optimise the machine so it runs much better...defrag the HD...etc.

So my question is what should I do to optimise this machine when I get it?

Also what are the main recommended software packages that I don't know about and that I really should look into for the MAC?

Oh and I know absolutely nothing about Apple software so I really need some serious enlightenment. And yes I am still flirting with the idea of popping a windows OS on the machine when I get it and pretend OS X does not exist... please save me!

Another thing... when it comes to HDs...windows HDs are usually formatted as FAT32 or NTFS drives...but I believe I read somewhere that Mac HDs are in a totally different format...right?! So is there going to be issues with a Mac HD like with say a FAT32 HD (no file bigger than 4gB)...that I should know about?

Thanks for reading and I really hope I can get some good advice here as I really feel like I'm walking in a very dark room with only a tiny LED for a lighbulb right now...

Sneakz

macrumors 65816
Jul 17, 2008
Toronto, Ontario, Canada