Ok to use an aliases for everything in home folder?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by rockinrocker, Aug 25, 2013.

  1. rockinrocker, Aug 25, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2013

    rockinrocker macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #1
    So I can put all the actual content on another drive?

    Would anything new that saves stuff to home folder by default just be automatically routed to original folders in their new location?

    Thanks
     
  2. GimmeSlack12, Aug 25, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2013

    GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Should be fine, but you need to 'Link' your new directories to your Home folder directories. Just using aliases won't work. Mac OS will most likely remove the aliases and put in a new folder if you just use aliases. I haven't done this before but will give it a go, let me know what you come up with.

    EDIT: I just mapped my Downloads and Documents folders into my Dropbox and everything is working ok.
     
  3. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #3
    Ok, thanks.

    How do l link the new directories to the home folder directories? Don't see anything in the help menu...

    Thanks

    ----------

    Sorry, just saw your edit- did you have to 'link' them then?
     
  4. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #4
    Yeah, my steps
    1. Remove the old directory, just make sure you move everything out of the folder first. Once you do this, it. is. gone.
    Code:
    sudo rm <directory>
    2. Link the new directory within your Home folder
    Code:
    ln -s <new directory> <home directory>
    So for example, linking my Dropbox Documents to my Home folder:
    Code:
    sudo rm ~/Documents
    ln -s ~/Dropbox/Documents ~/Documents
     
  5. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #5
  6. Dalton63841, Aug 26, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2013

    Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #6
    Wouldn't it just be easier to make a note in the /etc/fstab file to mount the other drive/partition as /Users?

    The link in my signature leads to a tutorial to do so. I have the OS on the primary hard drive, and the /Users directory is on the separate hard drive. Everything works like normal except that the /Users directory has a drive icon instead of a folder icon(which can be changed).
     
  7. rockinrocker thread starter macrumors 65816

    rockinrocker

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    #7
    Yeah, that sounds handy. I'll have a look.

    Thanks
     
  8. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #8
    Right-click on the user in System Prefs > Users & Groups, and click on "Advanced".
    There you can set the location of the user account.

    Bear in mind that you need to make sure the location exists, and has all your stuff in it before you reboot, otherwise, you'll get an "empty" default user account.
     

Share This Page