ok to use non-apple ram on 20" imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jeff-d, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. jeff-d macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #1
    i performed a search and did not find an answer to my question.
    last christmas i purchased a new 20" imac (just before the latest release in early january). i have 2gb ram now and want to go to 4gb (max for my machine).

    apple store wants $200 for the 4gb kit - can i get ram from a dealer like crucial and have it perform as well? i dont want to spend the money if i dont have to - but i was told by someone that i should only use the apple ram in the upgrade.

    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=3299593DA5CA7304 is the link to the kit another friend suggested
    4GB kit (2GBx2), 200-pin SODIMM, DDR2 PC2-6400 memory module
    CT817141
    Module Size: 4GB kit (2GBx2)
    Package: 200-pin SODIMM
    Feature: DDR2 PC2-6400
    Specs: DDR2 PC2-6400 • CL=6 • Unbuffered • NON-ECC • DDR2-800 • 1.8V • 256Meg x 64 •

    thoughts? thanks in advance
     
  2. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #2
    Never buy RAM from Apple - overpriced. As long a Crucial says it will work in your machine, it will work.
     
  3. jeff-d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #3
    crucial says it will work - however from experience i know that some systems prefer or run better on different brands - thanks for the info
     
  4. Scippy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    With apple, the rule of thumb is never buy ram from them, as its overpriced. A good place to buy ram is http://www.macsales.com/.
     
  5. Elton Noway macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    #5
    use non-Apple memory... Sure!

    True enough, I've seen systems that run better on Kingston memory than they did on Hynix with the same specs. That said... I've never restricted myself to a specific computer manufacturers designated memory. What I do is simply isolate the specifics of the memory needed then go shopoping for the best price in any of the brand names.

    In your case:
    DDR2 PC2-6400 - CL6 - Unbuffered - NON-ECC - DDR2-800 - 1.8V - 256Meg x 64 - 200 pin

    In addition to Crucial you have Egghead, Kingston or even Lenovo's PC web site! As long as the specs of the memory being sold "are exactly" the same... I've never found an instance where the memory didn't work.

    FYI: The reason for mentioning Lenovo is I found a bargin on some Lenovo T60 ThinkPad memory on EvilBay. (Two - 2GB stick for $21 with free shipping) . They were used but I couldn't pass it up. And they work great in my 20" 2.16GHz Intel iMac.
     
  6. jeff-d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #6
    thanks all - having an amazon gift card, and only having to pay $20 for the 4gb upgrade, that is the way i am going. should be here in 1-3 business days :)
     
  7. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #7
    Curious...

    When you buy RAM from Apple as an upgrade, do they sell you the OEM RAM in a box or will they fit it and test the entire system prior to dispatch? Personally I've NEVER purchased memory upgrades from Apple. Come to think of it, it's very vary rare for Apple to ever see their machine again, once it arrives in my home.
     
  8. eawmp1 macrumors 601

    eawmp1

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    FL
    #8
    If you custom order a computer from Apple with additional RAM, it comes installed, made to order.
     
  9. Povilas macrumors 6502a

    Povilas

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Location:
    Lithuania
    #9
    From my experience Kingston works fine, Apacer works fine.
     
  10. rtrt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    #10
    another vote for 3rd party with no problems

    crucial for macbook and imac

    owc/macsales for macpro
     
  11. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #11
    +1

    Exactly what I do.
     
  12. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #12
    Apple RAM is still Kingston / Samsung - there is no 'Apple' branded memory.

    Only difference is the higher price.
     
  13. white1234 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
  14. jeff-d thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #14
    installed today - easy and quick enough wife didnt even know i did the upgrade. nice increase in performance too. thanks all for the help
     
  15. Apocrathia macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    University of South Alabama
    #15
    I've installed aftermarket kingston hyperx in all of my systems. no problems.
     

Share This Page