Old 20" iMac and new 27" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Sapphire08, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. Sapphire08 macrumors member

    Sapphire08

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    England UK
    #1
    I've had my 20" iMac for just over 3 years (I love it to bits but I need a bit more power, waiting for spreadsheets to open takes soo long, beach ball during safari use with lots of multi-tasking and wanting to play better games) and i'm thinking of buying a new 27" iMac - is it possible to use the 20" as a second monitor for the new one?

    I'm so use to dual screens that I couldn't go back to 1 monitor although I'm hoping the bigger one will be better for screen real estate, although other threads lead me to wonder about the 27" being too big???

    If i can't use it - i'm wondering about making into a server so that other users in the house can share documents and software - is that possible?

    I would greatly appreciate any thoughts, comments, suggestions and help please?

    PS I tried using my Mac book pro with 2nd monitor for a little extra power but the fan noise drives me to distraction after the nearly silent operation of my iMac
     
  2. piatti macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    27 is pretty slow too. Buying a MacBook Air and then using the 20'' as a display might work better. Or if you increase the RAM of the 20''.
     
  3. Sapphire08 thread starter macrumors member

    Sapphire08

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    England UK
    #3
    I've already upgraded the Ram to max spec set my Apple.

    In the nicest possible way how can a 1.7ghz macbook air with a second monitor possibly compare to a 3.1ghz 27" iMac ?? :confused:

    Are really telling me that a new 1.7ghz macbook air is going to be more powerful than my old 2.4ghz iMac??
     
  4. Ayemerica macrumors demi-god

    Ayemerica

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Atlantis but in space
    #4
    i think you have a 2008 iMac which runs off the Core 2 duo processor. the new i5's and i7's are around 30% faster. i Have a 2010 imac and a 2011 mac mini and multi tasking is a breez.
     
  5. AdrianK, Feb 17, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012

    AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #5
    CPU wise, yes. Your iMac scores 3338 in geekbench, while a 13" i5 2011 MBA scores 5349. The Core2Duo to Core i step-up was substantial, and the sandy bridge CPUs were also a massive improvement from the previous generation.
     
  6. Sapphire08 thread starter macrumors member

    Sapphire08

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    England UK
    #6
    ok thank you guys - that's opened my eyes up to the power increases made in the last 3 years :eek:

    a) Any other uses for my old iMac then??

    b) Would it work as a server? (We currently use file sharing from my drop box but its no good for files that need altering by more than 1 computer with a different user - so many times we have permission issues - its infuriating :confused:)

    c) Am I correct it can't be used as a 2nd screen for the new one? (without 3rd party screen sharing apps that use a wifi network as our internet is just not fast enough - only get 1mb on a good day:mad: )
     
  7. JRS21015, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012

    JRS21015 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #7
    Get the HDD tested in the old iMac.

    When my 4 year old 24" iMac did as yours is doing, slow opening docs, beach ball during browsing I took it to Apple. It was still under Apple care. Took them all of 5 minutes to diagnose a poor performing ( dying ) HDD.


    A new Macbook Air may blow away your old iMac, however .....

    A new iMac will blow away a new Macbook Air.

    My new 27" iMac Geekbench score is 11668.



    .
     
  8. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #8
    Whenever you have multiple users reading and writing to the same file you'll have permissions issues. Using a different kind of file server won't solve that problem.

    Running a small server for only your household will use very little resources anyway, you don't need a dedicated server for it (though I understand that you may still want it dedicated, for whatever reason).

    Correct, you can't. There is software for the iPad which will trick your Mac in to thinking that there's a second display attached, which is then displayed on the iPad. It's entirely possible for someone to create something similar for Mac OS X, and I imagine the performance would be pretty decent if linked over gigabit ethernet. I just don't know if something like this exists.
     
  9. piatti macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #9

    What is the specs of your 27''iMac?
     
  10. JRS21015, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012

    JRS21015 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #10
    27" i7 / 3.4 Ghz / 8 GB Ram

    Here are the results of Geekbench ( 32 bit mode )


    System Information ......
     
  11. piatti macrumors 6502a

    piatti

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    How do you do the 32 bit mode as opposed to 64
     
  12. JRS21015, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012

    JRS21015 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    #12


    I went to Geek Bench website ..... http://www.primatelabs.ca/geekbench/

    Downloaded the software.

    For FREE they only allow you 32 bit mode.

    If you want to run 64 bit mode you have to pay for the software.

    Geekbench Software Version = Version 2.2.6 (202006)
     
  13. Sapphire08 thread starter macrumors member

    Sapphire08

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    England UK
    #13
    Apart from the obvious screen size difference physically - is there much difference in performance / use of the two following machines please??

    21.5" 2.7ghz i5 with 6770m 512mb and the 27" 3.1ghz i5 with 6970m with 1GB
     
  14. Sapphire08 thread starter macrumors member

    Sapphire08

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Location:
    England UK
    #14
    Incase anybody is thinking of making the switch - Do it !!!!

    My new 27" iMac is awesome - everything just works so much faster and better and the huge screen is sooo beautiful - its stunning and I don't think I'll need my second monitor anymore = bonus!!!!
     
  15. harcosparky macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #15

    Agreed!

    I was hesitant about getting the 27", but I sold my 17" MBP and made the jump.

    I was thinking of running an external 27" Apple display on the MBP, but I am really happy I did not do that.

    I opted for the processor upgrade and slapped an additional 8GB of ram in the 27".
     

Share This Page