old cinema display with new mac pro

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Jigga Beef, Jan 13, 2009.

1. Jigga Beef macrumors regular

So after over a year of saving up I finally got my custom configured Mac Pro yesterday! After carefully taking it out of the box and I tried to hook it up to my 4 year old APPLE cinema display (20 inch) and to my extreme dismay that monitor does not hook up to the Mac Pro DVI port.

After a about 15 minutes on hold with tech. support which is where i was routed by the "smart" computer voice on the phone, I got transfered to customer support and waited for about 20 mins this time. I was told that I need to buy a DVI to ACD adapter, which costs $99 dollars. So i raised the point that the person at the apple store told me "all apple displays will work with a mac pro" and the fact i just spent 3,800 dollars and as a college student i truly can't afford to put another 100 dollars into my computer. I said i wouldn't have as much of a gripe if it wasn't an Apple display. I raised the point that i am a Mobile Me subscriber, pro care memeber, multipule iPod owner, iPhone user and that i am generally happy with Apple but this wasn't right

I was than transfered to customer relations who said "they understood why i was mad" and the only thing they could offer me was a 10% off coupon, if i spent over 100 dollars or more. So the adaper i need was JUST under that.

Any ideas?? I wish i could afford a new display because i could get a decent 20 inch one for about 200 dollars but i really don't have even 100 dollars to shell out this month.

2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

BlueRevolution

Unfortunately, you just have to cough up the money. The old Cinema Displays require a connector that hasn't been present on new Macs for years. You might be able to find one on eBay...

3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

The person at the Apple Store did not lie, per say. Apple has no obligation to support the ADC anymore.