Old Dog trying to learn new Tricks - recent convert from PC to Mac looking for sugges

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by desmotesta, Nov 19, 2012.

1. desmotesta macrumors member

Hello all,

After using PCs for almost 20 years I have recently “converted” from PC world and have recently acquired a MBP. (MBP still in transit from Apple)

I am engineer by trade and an amateur photographer/videographer (hence the decision to get a MBP) I needed something “powerful” enough to edit full HD video content.

I have had an iphone since its inception and we do own a couple of Ipads/Ipods but this is our first Mac computer (since 1991 when I had a Macintosh Computer).

I am looking for suggestions on what programs and accessories to get.

Given my hobbies what photo/video editing software would you recommend?

Are accessories/peripherals like Time machine an absolute must have?

How practical/affective are the hard case covers? Do most people use them?

Is the magic mouse a “must have”?

Is there a way to import ALL of my Outlook email (almost 9 years worth) to Apple email?

I have tons more questions and I apologize if some of these have been asked in the past

2. SDAVE macrumors 68040

SDAVE

Welcome. I used to be a PC (before, Commodore) user for over 10 years, switched to mac around 2003. You'll never go back. :)

Lightroom is a must (it's the industry standard). Photoshop for deeper manipulation of imagery. Premiere Pro for editing.

Time Machine is nice, but I still use an external RAID 1 to backup my important work. If you're doing photo/video then you probably will be using an external drive. I would use TimeMachine to keep your local stuff backed up (music, etc) and put all the external content on another drive.

They're ugly. Even the best ones. Just get a nice carry bag (Like a standard Incase) and you're set. Keep your eye on the Mac and you will be ok (don't drop it, treat it nicely, and clean it once in a while). The better bags are pretty pricey.