Old Imac HDD in an external case won't mount.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Andrew.v, Feb 7, 2018.

  1. Andrew.v macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    #1
    Hi there,

    Hoping someone can help. I'm having trouble getting my old iMac drive to mount to either my Macbook Pro or Macbook Air. It will show up in disk utility and system profiler as well as in terminal. However, in disk utility the mount button is greyed out, and in terminal it will time out and not mount. The drive also isn't an option to be used as a start up disk. I can't seem to find a solution.

    Thanks
    Andrew
     
  2. TC_GoldRush macrumors 6502

    TC_GoldRush

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
  3. Longkeg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Location:
    S. Florida
  4. chscag macrumors 68030

    chscag

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #4
    If it can't be mounted in Disk Utility, that usually means the drive is no longer functional. Unless you have data on the drive that you need, dispose of it. If there is data that you need you might try special software such as Disk Warrior, but even that may not work if the drive can't be mounted. The only other option would be "Professional Data Recovery" and that can be expensive.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    What kind of drive is it?
    3.5" (I presume) SATA? (it came out of an iMac, right?)

    Who is the manufacturer?
    What kind of device/enclosure/dock/other are you using to connect it?
     
  6. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Does the enclosure give enough power? It sounds like it has enough power to identify the disk but not enough to make the disk spin.
     

Share This Page

5 February 7, 2018