Old Iphone as an ipod, given to me

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Dino451, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. Dino451 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #1
    I will be receiving a iphone 3g from a relative. I DON'T plan on using it as a phone at all. I understand it can be used an ipod, I have a few problems. I know that a iphone needs to be activated in itunes, the problem is I will not get the sim card with the phone and have been researching this a little bit and found out itunes wont let me use it unless activated. An att store is within walking distance, can I get a blank sim from them just so I can activate it in itunes? Anyway to use the iphone on my system so it syncs with my apps etc..,without a sim? Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #2
    It doesn't need to be activated at all. Just make sure the sim is removed and you can sync it to iTunes.
     
  3. j3yq macrumors 6502

    j3yq

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Location:
    Iowa
    #3
    Just make sure they send it already activated.
     
  4. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #4
    Right... as long as it's been used as a phone in the past (I assumed it's someone's old iPhone?), then no activation is needed. If they're sending you a brand new 3G that you want to use as an iPod, that will be a little different.
     
  5. Dino451 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #5
    It is a used phone that was used as a phone on att. I will be syncing it to my PC which will require a restore(I think). And I will not get the sim with it, I think he wants to keep it. Since it is my PC and not his, I was wandering if the activation problem exists in this case.
     
  6. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #6
    Nope! You're good to go. Just plug it in, his restore... and smooth sailing. You basically have a super iPod touch. ;)
     
  7. Hellishness macrumors 65816

    Hellishness

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #7
    I don't remember what exactly you have to do, but i think you do need an ATT sim card. I did this with my iPhone 3G when I used it as an iPod.
     
  8. Dino451 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #8
    Thank you. I spent a good hour on google trying to figure this out. Should have come here first.:(
     
  9. Dino451 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    #9
    If this is the case I may walk to my local ATT store and see if they will give/sell me a blank sim.
     
  10. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #10
    *sigh* If you take out the sim, it works just fine. There's no reason to get a blank SIM. The only iPhones that needed blank sims were the first generation.

    http://techie-buzz.com/featured/convert-old-iphone-to-ipod-touch.html

    No problem. This is one of those questions that seem difficult but are actually very simple.

    Take out the sim. :D
     

Share This Page