(old) Mac Pro and iMac onto an airplane?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SHNXX, Aug 9, 2015.

  1. SHNXX macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #1
    Has anyone tried to carry a Mac Pro into an airplane as a carry-on?
    I'm likely going to fly in F in JAL or in F in KAL.

    Previously I tried to carry a 27" iMac onto an F flight in CX but they refused, so I got the boxes for it so that I could have it checked in (original box).
    Since the original box (both outer and inner) is quite sturdy for the iMac, I'm hoping that it will be fine as checked in luggage.

    In addition to the iMac, I also have a Mac Pro (the old generation which is much bigger than the current gen) that I want to take onto an airplane but unlike the iMac, because it doesn't have a screen attached to it, I think it probably fits into the physical dimensions of a carry-on luggage.
     
  2. RC Mike macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    #2
    You're asking the wrong people. Call your airline, and have the physical dimensions at hand when you do it. Asking the right people ahead of time prevents a lot of frustration on the day of your travel.

    Having travelled quite a bit, there's no way I'd take an old Mac Pro as carry-on, even if they let me. Stuff in the bins gets jostled around a lot, and without any packaging to absorb shock and vibrations, you'll be risking your equipment. For the small fee involved, why not just package it correctly and check it?

    Alternatively, if there's another Mac Pro available at your destination, just pull the drives and carry them on. Much easier than bringing a whole machine.
     
  3. Richdmoore macrumors 68000

    Richdmoore

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Troutdale, OR
    #3
    I believe even if it is a international flights, the airline has very limited liability for electronics if broken or stolen. I think a better option would be to ship the computer via FedEx or other package service, with insurance.
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Even though I personally won't recommed you do it. As far as it's within the dimension AND weight. You can hand carry the Mac Pro on board.

    There is nothing in the Mac Pro considered as danger goods and cannot be carried on board.

    However, if you carry it on your own. There will be no insurance, and the airline has no responsibility if it's broken. On the other hand. If there is a clear evidence that the Mac Pro is broken after fly as a checked in baggage. Usually you can ask for compensation / fix. Of course, the ground staff (cargo loader) usually won't handle the baggages in a gentle manner, which seems will greatly increase the chance of damage. But I fact, the possibility still low (if it's properly packed).

    I don't know how much the FedEx will charge you or if it's worth to do so. But IMO, it's the best option to ship a Mac Pro (if not consider the cost).

    Anyway. I can tell you that the old Mac Pro should not able to fit inside a carry on bag. It's too big. I work on the aircraft, I know the normal allowed carry on bags' size. There is no way the Mac Pro case can fit inside. My working bag is a bit bigger than the normal allowed carry on size, but still can't carry the Mac Pro.

    So, I will say either pack it properly and check it in. Or pay for FedEx / UPS etc.
     
  5. SHNXX thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #5
    According to Japan Airline website:

    Not more than 115cm (45in.) W: within 55cm×H: within 40cm×D: within 25cm
    (W: within 22in.×H: within 16in.×D: within 10in.) 10 kg (22 lbs.)

    I suppose it would fail the depth and weight requirements.


    In Korean Air, the size is same but the weight requirement is higher for first class:
    55(A) X 20(B) X 40(C) cm
    First/Presitge 18kg/40lbs.

    But the main sticking point seems to be the depth, which is required to be within 10 inches for JAL and KAL (40cm/15in) but the Mac Pro has 18.7" depth.

    I suppose I'd better hunt down the Mac Pro box if I want to have it in the other country with me.

    I am not so sure about shipping because shipping costs for these kinds of big things, especially to China, with tracking, can be quite expensive.
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    To lower the cost, the best you can do is to get a box, or pack it properly. Ship as the check in luggage. AND must tell the check in staff that's fragile, get a sticker on the box. It will help to reduce damage.

    If I were you, I will also pull out the HDD (may be GPU as well). Protect them by anti static bags and bubble wrap, then keep them in my carry on bag. So, I won't lost my data even though my Mac Pro is eventually missing after check in. It does happen sometimes, not necessary the airline's fault. I've seen it by myself, a driver who drive too fast on the apron, and one of the pax check in bag fall out from his truck. The driver has no idea about it, and no other person care that bag (in the middle of the road!). I eventually have to go down and pick up that bag, then ask one of the ground staff sent it back to the corresponding aircraft. Besides, some other pax may just pick up your check in bags and go away. Lost the computer is not good, but that's just money. If you lost the HDD (data), then it may be no solution to recover it.
     
  7. SHNXX thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    #7
    the mac pro in question will be receiving a fresh SSD install with new OS so data won't be an issue.
     

Share This Page