Old Mac Pro G4

Discussion in 'macOS' started by TheOuch, Dec 3, 2009.

  1. TheOuch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #1
    I have an old 2x 1Ghz G4 Mac Pro. I'd like to set it up as a server, if that is even worth the time :)

    But, before I do that, I have a couple of questions:

    1) Would it be superior in any way to my linux box running netatalk?
    2) Would it allow me to do networked Time Machine backups?
    3) Can I do it with my family pack of Lepoard or Tiger?

    Thanks in advance,

    -Dave
     
  2. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #2
    Your PowerMac G4 will run Leopard, What type of server are you wanting to do with it?
     
  3. knewsom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #3
    Depends on the stats of your Linux box and how much space you need. Not to mention how loud the G4 is.

    Yes. Though your linux box might not. Worth a try tho.
    'Course. ..unless you need the high-end functions of MacOSX Server. Which it doesn't sound like you do.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    1. Superior in the way that it's low maintenance and easy to set up.
    2. Yes
    3. Yes, Leopard will probably make it easier for Time machine back ups.

    By the way G4 desktop tower is called PowerMac.
     
  5. mscriv macrumors 601

    mscriv

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #5
    I'm running a G4 MDD as a home server/backup. It works great for my needs. I use Leopard so I can run it headless with screen sharing. It was a fun little project and meets our needs.
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    BTW you can get Time Machine to work on 10.4 but it's a bit more effort.

    10.4 also has remote desktop client integrated.

    Yeah I also have a MDD. Dual 867. Runs 24/7. Has 6 harddrives (with SATA card, removed optical drive).
     
  7. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #7
    I have an old Quicksilver G4 I use with Leopard as my server. It's not quite headless. but is used as such..
     
  8. mscriv macrumors 601

    mscriv

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    #8
    Sounds like we have very similar set ups. I put two SATA cards in mine and it has 5 total HD's in it. Four SATA 1TB drives for storage and a 20GB PATA drive used for OSX with a slim down version of Leopard installed. I prefer Leopard because screen sharing is integrated and much easier to use than the remote desktop client in previous versions. We don't run ours 24/7 just to save on power.
     
  9. TheOuch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #9
    Sorry I wasn't clear -- I was thinking: File Server.
     
  10. TheOuch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #10
    I have NOT been able to get linux working as a Time Machine backup. I have gotten close, but, I always fail.

    I really want to get my Wife's MBA backed up.

    Time machine, alone, would be a good enough reason for me to set it up. So -- Looks like it's time to do a fresh leopard install, and share some drive space!
     
  11. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #11
    I have a quicksilver running tiger for my media sever. Works awesome.

    Why do you think you need OS X Server? I tried OS X Server on it and it was way above my head. To many options.
     
  12. knewsom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #12
    Sell the G4. Buy a USB hard drive. Plug it into your airport express.

    voila.
     
  13. TheOuch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #13

    You mean, sell the g4, buy an airport express, even though I have several networked commercial grade access points all on one ssid, buy a usb hard disk, and lose a ton of performance going wireless, all when I have a gigabit network between all my computers?

    Somehow, I don't think this is the best choice. :)
     
  14. knewsom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #14
    Then buy a NAS. The energy savings alone will be worth the cost.
     
  15. TheOuch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    #15
    I'd love a NAS!

    Do they make one that works with Time Machine? I have an existing linux server, so, I save the most money by simply adding space to that. But, I can't do Time Machine backups to it.

    I was hoping to use the G4, get all of my network storage there, in a nice Raid format, and do Time machine. If it is possible.

    If it is not possible, then I'll kill the pipe dream, and sell the G4.
     
  16. knewsom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    #16
    It certainly IS possible, it's just large, energy-hungry and loud. I'm fairly certain that if you buy a NAS that will also mount as a USB drive, and you format it as a Mac drive, and THEN put it on your network, you'll be able to use it with Time Machine.
     

Share This Page