Old mac pro to modify.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mavericks7913, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. mavericks7913 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Hi I have some questions about Old version of Mac pro. Will it be possible to modify old mac pro for...

    1. Thunderbolt 2 ports PCI card
    2. Newest graphic cards from AMD RX480
    3. Newest CPU
    4. SDD
    5. Motherboard
     
  2. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
  3. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    Dmann...
     
  4. Ultracyclist macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #4
    I case you would build a hackintoch in the cMP the answer to all points could be yes!
     
  5. pat500000 macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #5
    Hard to say but you could put your new money out and get ready to buy a new Mac Pro.
     
  6. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    Yeah after I hear his comments, I was looking at Hackintosh computer. Base on my customizing, it cost less than $2000 but the spec and performance is way better. I just concern about the OS stability and parts compatibility. Other than those, it would be a great choice. Save money live better, Hackintosh.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 12, 2016 ---
    I really feel that Apple charge too much money on each mac and parts which is very unacceptable.
     
  7. pat500000 macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #7
    Unacceptable but you do want to stay updated with tech right? If not, cMP would do.
     
  8. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    Stay updated with tech? Apple is being behind if you know about Apple. MP is not enough to run programs smoothly with large files. That's why I need a desktop computer.
     
  9. pat500000 macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #9
    Tb3 is outdated? I don't know what you do for living but nMP is efficient for music and video content. It's either you roll with Apple or get left behind.

    Edit: I meant to say tb2.. But upcoming would be tb3
     
  10. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #10
    lol you still don't understand what I said. watch this video.
     
  11. pat500000 macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #11
    So what do you want? Z1 workstation?
    As someone mentioned hackintosh. But of course your concern was stability of os.
     
  12. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    Well to be honest, OS X become unstable since OS X Yosemite came out that I experienced freezing issues so many times.
     
  13. pat500000 macrumors 603

    pat500000

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #13
    What do you think your option would be?
    Based on availability at this time and of course money part?
     
  14. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #14
    I need to gather more infos about Hackintosh then
     
  15. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #15
    Yes you do but like with all things read first, think second, talk third.
     
  16. pastrychef, Jun 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2016

    pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #16
    I have upgraded to just about every new release of OS X within a day or two of release for as long as I could remember and have never experienced freezing. Plus, I haven't done a clean install of OS X on my Mac Pro in about a decade.
     
  17. Ultracyclist macrumors regular

    Ultracyclist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht, Netherlands
    #17
    Same here, never had issues with my Mac's (Mac Pro running full release within 2 days of release/MacBook Pro running dev. preview within 12 hrs)
     
  18. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    freezing might be something like low ram, HD problems (bad sectors and page files?) etc

    the 4.1/5.1 can run the equivalent of something like a i7 970/980x which is something like 4 gens old, you can run some/most PC gpu's with a few bugs but it works (but not the new ones yet).
    if you can pick one up cheep then there worth a look but id think twice if the price is high, if you do look at one give it a good check for problems.

    The imacs are worth a look, nice displays
    ps only 2x 6pin for gpu without extra work
     
  19. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #19
    Exactly I've been running OS X since the beta version yes some issues but never had the OS lock up this safari 9.1.1 is real buggy
     
  20. TheStork macrumors regular

    TheStork

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #20
    I, too, have been using OS X since the 10.0.0 Beta version. I never did like Safari (can't remember when it debuted), and, as a consequence, I use FireFox which I've been using on my Macs since it was Mosaic back when it was developed at the University of Illinois. I occasionally try Safari (when I update to the latest OS X at the 10.x.3 update) but I'm still not impressed enough to use it.
     

Share This Page