OLD Office, wait for iWork '10?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Thorbjorn, Jun 30, 2009.

1. Thorbjorn macrumors regular

So I've been gimping along using Microsoft Office X for Mac, issued in 2001. It generally works okay (and geez, I'm certainly used to it) but Word in particular will often crash when I save a document. I guess it's showing its age. I'm starting to think about transitioning to iWork (because of low cost and good reviews), but wonder whether I should jump now or wait until a possible iWork '10. Any thoughts? Do we have an estimate of possible release date? Do we have any good guesses about whether the upgrades from '09 to '10 would be worth waiting for?

2. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

Hands up if anyone thinks it'll be made into iWork X... (I hope it doesn't, terrible idea)

To be honest, I doubt there will be a big feature set that would come with 10, there wasn't anything too special to make me immediately jump from 8 to 9, so I'd say get it now if it really bugs you, but you can survive another 5 - 8 months of a troubled Office, stick at it.

3. CRAZYBUBBA macrumors 65816

CRAZYBUBBA

I would certainly recommend an upgrade. If you can't save your work then the program is useless for you.

4. Thorbjorn thread starter macrumors regular

I should clarify: I can (and do!) save work. It just sometimes takes a couple of iterations. I've learned to copy all onto Clipboard before saving for the first time. Subsequent saves don't crash as often.

5. Schtumple macrumors 601

Schtumple

Still, does kinda defeat the point if you have to do that in order to be 100% sure your save will go through...

I'd definitely suggest iWork '09

6. linxaudio macrumors newbie

Why not try Open Office?
    If you want something to use between now and when iWork 10 is released, you could ditch Microsoft Office, still work on those files in Open Office, and continue to work on them, even if you decide to get iWork.