Old OS X version on new GPU

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 1970mgbgt, Oct 1, 2015.

  1. 1970mgbgt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #1
    Hi,

    I'm upgrading my 2011 Mac Pro 5,1 2.4Ghz 8-core to a 3.33Ghz 12-core machine. At the same time, I'm upgrading the graphics card to a Radeon 7970, new memory, a couple of SSDs, and a new monitor.

    The OS will have to be upgraded to Mavericks to run the new Radeon card, but there is one program (Bryce 7 Pro) that I really need that will only run on OS 10.6.

    My question is, what happens if I boot up the machine from a drive containing 10.6 while the new card is expecting 10.9? Is it like matter and anti-matter thrown together? Will the machine explode? Nothing at all?

    I really don't know.

    Thanks,

    MG
     
  2. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #2
    My guess is that you'll wind up with a black screen or it won't boot at all. However, I believe you can run Snow Leopard in a VM from within Mavericks. Check the EULA to make sure but I have read where other folks say it's possible.
     
  3. 1970mgbgt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #3
    Thanks. Are you talking about something like this?

    From the Mavericks EULA:

    (ii) you may not make the Apple Software available over a network
    where it could be run or used by multiple computers at the same time.

    Could a VM be construed as being one or several other machines run on a network?

    VMWare Fusion talks about Running Win inside OS X, but does it accomplish running a Mac within a Mac?
     
  4. 1970mgbgt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #4
  5. chscag macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas
    #5
    No, a network is not the same. You would actually be running Snow Leopard on the same machine as Mavericks but it would be running as a virtual machine within Mavericks. And I wouldn't necessarily use VMWare since it's not free. VirtualBox from Oracle is free and works well. The only thing I would be concerned with is the legality of doing it. However, if you own a license for Snow Leopard and since Mavericks is free, I don't think you would be violating the EULA.
     
  6. 1970mgbgt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #6
    Apple apparently allows the virtualization of SL Server, but not the client version. That is the key to the whole thing.
     
  7. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #7
    You should be able to find Snow Leopard server DVD in the Apple web store, I haven't tested it myself but it should work in VirtualBox.
     
  8. 1970mgbgt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    #8
    They quit selling it in January of this year, according to a poster on the site I listed above. Just bought a copy off Ebay.
     

Share This Page