old powerbook G4 problems

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by e123pedro, Feb 7, 2012.

  1. e123pedro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #1
    Ok everyone I tried to turn on my powerbook g4 the other day and it came up the gray screen with the faces and question mark flashing. I figured the hard drive went bad on it so i ordered a new one already preloaded with tiger(the operating system that the g4 went bad.) Now I have put the new hard drive in and it still comes up to the same gray screen. any ideas on what the problem could be now?

    Thank You
    Eric
     
  2. kylera macrumors 65816

    kylera

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Location:
    Seoul
    #2
    Have you tried booting from a FireWire external HDD or a OS X CD? Also, which PowerBook do you have?
     
  3. e123pedro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #3
    All I know is the cpu is a powerbookG4. I dont have a external hd. I tried to boot from the osx disks but that didnt work either.
     
  4. JeeFoUrCuBEnMBP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #4
    Click on your apple logo at the top left and select "About this Mac", then select "More Info" in the dialog tab that pops up. This will bring up your System Profiler. Once you have this pulled up... tell us what the model identifier is. Anything needed to know about the machine can generally be told by the info given by the Model ID.
     
  5. jbarley macrumors 68030

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #5
    Kinda difficult to do when his computer is not running due to boot problems.
     
  6. SimonUK5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    #6
    Reset your PRAM and try again.

    Hold Command(Apple Key) + Option(Alt) + P + R
     
  7. JeeFoUrCuBEnMBP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #7
    haahahaha, I get the dumbass post of the day award. Funny thing is I actually read and understood his problem before telling him to do that.... I need to go to sleep lol.
     
  8. Subish macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    #8
    hahah... Funny how lack of sleep can make you do / say off the wall things.
     
  9. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
  10. e123pedro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #10
    ok guys thanks for the help i will try to reset the pram . will let u know if it works

    ----------

    hi guys,

    I reset the PRAM without any luck. Any other ideas?
    ps. thanks for the help so far
     
  11. DrakkenWar macrumors 6502

    DrakkenWar

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    San Antonio,Texas
    #11
    HDD cable, or system board failure

    Title says it all.

    If you have replaced the harddrive to no avail.

    If you replace the HD cable to no avail.

    If you still get the grey screen of doom? The next issue to address is the board itself.

    ~Drake
     
  12. skinniezinho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #12
    Believe me, as I said before the most certain is the hdd cable...try to reseat it,if doesn't work get a new one.
     
  13. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #13
    The specs of the machine should be listed in the battery compartment.

    A photo would also help. This could be a Titanium.
     
  14. e123pedro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    #14
    I will get a new hdd cable today. if that doesnt work I will a picture of the mac.

    Thank
     

Share This Page