Old version of Airport Utility for 802.11g Express?

cherft

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2013
7
0
Hello
How can I get an Older version (<6) of Airport Utility to enable connection from my iPad/iPhone to my old ".11g" Airport Express? This is for use as a travel router when I stay in hotels with ethernet connections only.
Whilst I DO have a Windows 7 Desktop computer, I DO NOT have any Apple Desktop or Laptop - just the iPad and iPhone.
I have an investment of 4 of these old Airport Express devices running printers and Hi Fi setups around the house.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Chris
 
Last edited:

Weaselboy

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
29,460
9,098
California
Hello
How can I get an Older version (<6) of Airport Utility to enable connection from my iPad/iPhone to my old ".11g" Airport Express?
I have an investment of 4 of these old Airport Express devices running printers and Hi Fi setups around the house.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Chris
Follow this.
 

cherft

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2013
7
0
Thank you; unfortunately I cannot use your idea

Thank you for taking the time to try to assist me, Weaselboy, but I DO NOT have any Apple Desktop or Laptop - just the iPad and iPhone.

I have updated my posted question with this info in case anyone can assist further.

Best regards
Chris
 

dictoresno

macrumors 601
Apr 30, 2012
4,205
468
NJ
so you have no windows computer either? youre just looking for an older version of the airport utility app? i have a feeling that you may be out of luck. however, if you do end up with a computer, i have a link to an older version of the desktop utility if that helps.

http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1391
 

Weaselboy

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
29,460
9,098
California
Thank you for taking the time to try to assist me, Weaselboy, but I DO NOT have any Apple Desktop or Laptop - just the iPad and iPhone.

I have updated my posted question with this info in case anyone can assist further.

Best regards
Chris
Oh I see... if the iOS app won't work, I don't know what else you can do. If you could get temp. access to a friends Mac or PC, you could configure the routers at someone else's house then just bring them home and reconnect them.
 

Night Spring

macrumors G5
Jul 17, 2008
13,073
5,102
Oh I see... if the iOS app won't work, I don't know what else you can do. If you could get temp. access to a friends Mac or PC, you could configure the routers at someone else's house then just bring them home and reconnect them.
Or if there is an Apple store near you, ask if you can use one of their Macs.
 

cherft

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2013
7
0
so you have no windows computer either? youre just looking for an older version of the airport utility app? i have a feeling that you may be out of luck. however, if you do end up with a computer, i have a link to an older version of the desktop utility if that helps.

http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1391
Thank you for responding, dictoresno, YES, I do have a Windows 7 desktop computer that I use to manage my AEx with the Windows version 5.6.1 of the Admin Utility.
What would be ideal is getting this version for the iPad and/or iPhone so that I can take my AEx as a travel router when I stay in hotels with only ethernet internet connection.
thank you.
regards
Chris
 
Last edited:

cherft

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2013
7
0
Or if there is an Apple store near you, ask if you can use one of their Macs.
Ha Ha Good one, Night Spring - my Apple Store just laughed at me and told me to get real and buy new .11n AEx - they are not interested in helping in any way.
Kind regards
Chris

----------

Oh I see... if the iOS app won't work, I don't know what else you can do. If you could get temp. access to a friends Mac or PC, you could configure the routers at someone else's house then just bring them home and reconnect them.
I apologies for not giving the full picture, Weaselboy. I have a Windows 7 PC at home that I use to configure my AEx using Windows version 5x of Admin Utility.

What I need is an iPad version that will handle .11g AEx when I travel and stay at hotels that only provide ethernet internet.

Thanks for looking at this.
regards
Chris
 

Weaselboy

Moderator
Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
29,460
9,098
California
What I need is an iPad version that will handle .11g AEx when I travel and stay at hotels that only provide ethernet internet.

Thanks for looking at this.
regards
Chris
I see. I use an Airport Express for the same thing and just have a default setup on the AE with WPA wifi and have never had to tweak that to get it to work at hotels over ethernet. I never have to use Airport Util to get it to work. I just plug it in to the hotel ethernet and in a couple minutes the AE light turns green. Then I connect via wifi from my iPad or Macbook and get the hotel login screen and after filling that out it always works.

You might try just setting it up like I described on the Windows machine then see if it works for you like mine does in a hotel.
 

cherft

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2013
7
0
I see. I use an Airport Express for the same thing and just have a default setup on the AE with WPA wifi and have never had to tweak that to get it to work at hotels over ethernet. I never have to use Airport Util to get it to work. I just plug it in to the hotel ethernet and in a couple minutes the AE light turns green. Then I connect via wifi from my iPad or Macbook and get the hotel login screen and after filling that out it always works.

You might try just setting it up like I described on the Windows machine then see if it works for you like mine does in a hotel.
Thanks again, Weaselboy. What you say sounds encouraging. At home (using a Windows PC to configure it) it all works fine.
I guess I'll have to simply trust that mine will work in a Laos ethernet only hotel.
All the best and thanks
Chris
 

Night Spring

macrumors G5
Jul 17, 2008
13,073
5,102
Ha Ha Good one, Night Spring - my Apple Store just laughed at me and told me to get real and buy new .11n AEx - they are not interested in helping in any way.
Did you actually ask? I can see them turning down the request, but I find it hard to imagine they'd laugh at a customer -- if any customer service person at any store treated me that way, I'd certainly ask to speak to their supervisor.

(Actually, I wouldn't ask -- I'd just walk in and use one of their display Macs. If you know what you are doing, you can do it before anyone notices. :p)
 

cherft

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2013
7
0
Did you actually ask? I can see them turning down the request, but I find it hard to imagine they'd laugh at a customer -- if any customer service person at any store treated me that way, I'd certainly ask to speak to their supervisor.
yes i did go (to the Chadstone VIC store).
maybe he did not actually laugh out loud but there was definitely a "gotcha" smirk on his face.
very disappointing.:mad:
perhaps I'll go at a different time and see if someone else might be more helpful. . .