Old version of Airport Utility for 802.11g Express?

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by cherft, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. cherft, Jun 3, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013

    cherft macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #1
    Hello
    How can I get an Older version (<6) of Airport Utility to enable connection from my iPad/iPhone to my old ".11g" Airport Express? This is for use as a travel router when I stay in hotels with ethernet connections only.
    Whilst I DO have a Windows 7 Desktop computer, I DO NOT have any Apple Desktop or Laptop - just the iPad and iPhone.
    I have an investment of 4 of these old Airport Express devices running printers and Hi Fi setups around the house.
    Thanks in advance for your help.
    Chris
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Follow this.
     
  3. cherft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #3
    Thank you; unfortunately I cannot use your idea

    Thank you for taking the time to try to assist me, Weaselboy, but I DO NOT have any Apple Desktop or Laptop - just the iPad and iPhone.

    I have updated my posted question with this info in case anyone can assist further.

    Best regards
    Chris
     
  4. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    so you have no windows computer either? youre just looking for an older version of the airport utility app? i have a feeling that you may be out of luck. however, if you do end up with a computer, i have a link to an older version of the desktop utility if that helps.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1391
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Oh I see... if the iOS app won't work, I don't know what else you can do. If you could get temp. access to a friends Mac or PC, you could configure the routers at someone else's house then just bring them home and reconnect them.
     
  6. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
    Or if there is an Apple store near you, ask if you can use one of their Macs.
     
  7. cherft, Jun 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013

    cherft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #7
    Thank you for responding, dictoresno, YES, I do have a Windows 7 desktop computer that I use to manage my AEx with the Windows version 5.6.1 of the Admin Utility.
    What would be ideal is getting this version for the iPad and/or iPhone so that I can take my AEx as a travel router when I stay in hotels with only ethernet internet connection.
    thank you.
    regards
    Chris
     
  8. cherft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #8
    Ha Ha Good one, Night Spring - my Apple Store just laughed at me and told me to get real and buy new .11n AEx - they are not interested in helping in any way.
    Kind regards
    Chris

    ----------

    I apologies for not giving the full picture, Weaselboy. I have a Windows 7 PC at home that I use to configure my AEx using Windows version 5x of Admin Utility.

    What I need is an iPad version that will handle .11g AEx when I travel and stay at hotels that only provide ethernet internet.

    Thanks for looking at this.
    regards
    Chris
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I see. I use an Airport Express for the same thing and just have a default setup on the AE with WPA wifi and have never had to tweak that to get it to work at hotels over ethernet. I never have to use Airport Util to get it to work. I just plug it in to the hotel ethernet and in a couple minutes the AE light turns green. Then I connect via wifi from my iPad or Macbook and get the hotel login screen and after filling that out it always works.

    You might try just setting it up like I described on the Windows machine then see if it works for you like mine does in a hotel.
     
  10. cherft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #10
    Thanks again, Weaselboy. What you say sounds encouraging. At home (using a Windows PC to configure it) it all works fine.
    I guess I'll have to simply trust that mine will work in a Laos ethernet only hotel.
    All the best and thanks
    Chris
     
  11. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #11
    Did you actually ask? I can see them turning down the request, but I find it hard to imagine they'd laugh at a customer -- if any customer service person at any store treated me that way, I'd certainly ask to speak to their supervisor.

    (Actually, I wouldn't ask -- I'd just walk in and use one of their display Macs. If you know what you are doing, you can do it before anyone notices. :p)
     
  12. cherft thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #12
    yes i did go (to the Chadstone VIC store).
    maybe he did not actually laugh out loud but there was definitely a "gotcha" smirk on his face.
    very disappointing.:mad:
    perhaps I'll go at a different time and see if someone else might be more helpful. . .
     

Share This Page