Older iMac Now Has a Glitch(Mysterious Black Border)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by lonemac, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. lonemac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #1
    I'm running an older iMac with OSX version 10.4.11 and is configured with 2.33 ghz intel core 2 duo and 2 GB mhz DDR SDRAM.

    I purchased this iMac in May/2007 and it has been flawless until now.

    My issue started when I went to edit an ad I had on Craigslist. I went to substitute a photo I had in iPhoto for a photo on my desktop. The photo substitution appeared to take ok. I closed out my Craigslist account page and went to the Craiglist site to see how my ad appeared, but my computer would not connect. After this I could not connect to any other site as well.

    The other issue is that now when I go to log out using the Apple icon in Safari or Firefox, within the drop down feature I am presented with 2 restart selections, 2 shutdown selections and 2 log out selections.

    There is also now a black border around one of my jpeg photo files that I keep on my desktop. This black border will move to another photo file on the desktop if I select it. If I open the photo, the border will now be around the photo. This black border will also follow me to my Mail on the font adjust button or to an email when I select it. I have 3 other users on this computer and they do not seem to be affected by the mysterious black border or the double restart, shutdown and log out selections.

    I have been plagued with an intermittent internet connection(AT&T DSL) for quite a while now, so I'm thinking this might have something to do with my glitch.

    I had a nice little chat with my AT&T customer service rep, and was told that I am now on a different connection, and I am now able to connect to sites using both Safari and Firefox.

    As I'm writing this my 10 year old son has informed that the iMac he uses at his school also has the mysterious black border. very, very odd.

    I would really like to get rid of the mysterious black border, and the double selections. Any advice please???
     
  2. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #2
    When you say black border, do you mean the black border that is part of the glass overlay? If so, then it is normal. If you are talking about a small part of the screen is black (maybe a couple mm), then is it still normal. IF you are seeing graphical issues, then it is not normal.
     
  3. lonemac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #3
    Not a part of the glass overlay or just a part of the screen. I seems to follow me wherever I go. Even now while I'm typing this it has followed me. It is symmetrical but does not line up with any thing, totally new. If I scroll on this page it will follow this cursor up and down but not left to right. Just now an ad just popped up and it bordered the ad. Really weird stuff.
     
  4. AlphaDogg macrumors 68040

    AlphaDogg

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Boulder, CO
    #4
    Would you mind taking a video and putting it on youtube or something? I cannot understand what you mean. Thanks :)
     
  5. lonemac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #5
    Ok this little glitch is officially freaking me out now. I really think I picked up a virus. I went into iPhoto since this problem started when I was trying to upload to Craigslist from there. I now hear a computer generated voice telling me everything I've clicked on, the black square or rectangle "border" issue still is present and follows my moves. I'm really at a loss at what to do. I'll try to get something on youtube to show whats going on. In the mean time is there any maintenance cleaning action or reset procedure I should try?
     
  6. DigDan88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    #6
    You have VoiceOver turned on. Go into Settings > Universal Access > VoiceOver. Turn off. Problem fixed.
     
  7. lonemac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #7
    DigDan,

    I believe you are absolutely correct. I've been doing a little digging around and discovered that Command + F5 will turn on VoiceOver. After editing/updating my Craiglist Ad, to check the edit it was suggested to select Cntrl + F5. Obviuosly, I must have selected Command +F5. When I get back to my Imac this morning, I will be verifying this.

    Appreciate all the help.....:)
     
  8. lonemac thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    #8
    Yep, VoiceOver was turned on. Select System Preferences>Universal Access>VoiceOver>Off.

    The mysterious black borders are now gone as well as the double restart, shutdown, logout selections and the freaky computer generated voice.(lonemac trembling)

    Thanks again...
     
  9. elyserp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    #9
    F5 didn't help

    I thought the F5 fix sounded very possible, particularly since I tried F5 to fix the way FB is posting photos. But I'm still getting the black outline. It's like a text box.
     

Share This Page