Older Mac Pro's with OS X Mavericks?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by WhiteIphone5, Jun 15, 2013.

  1. WhiteIphone5 macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #1
    Do you guys think we will all get the features? like Timer Coalescing, App nap, maps and compressed memories? All these features seem like it would work on 2011+ systems not older board. What do you guys think? You know how older machines can run airplay mirroring.
    thoughts?
     
  2. omnious macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    #2
    Well, the specs for DP1 say:

    ...so if you are really dying to run iBooks and all the other "wonderful" apps that make up the features of 10.9, you should be ok.
     
  3. kevink2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #3
    I don't see why most of these wouldn't work on older systems. Some features, like the timer coalescing, maybe not. That appears to be more geared toward laptops running on battery.

    Based on previous experience, features that depend on more modern GPUs may not work. Isn't Airplay from a mac one of these features that don't currently work on older systems? Or features that require updated wi-fi chips? Like Airdrop or 802.11ac?

    I spent money recently buying additional RAM for my 2008 MP. It now has 20GB, even if it isn't 800mhz. I figure the bump in RAM makes up for the slower RAM for MY usage. The only issue I have with my MP is, if I want to boot off of CD for something that doesn't have a mac boot capability (such as a Linux CD), I have to change the startup disk in the OS, then remove the battery and reset the PRAM before I can boot the Mac again. I have no idea why that is.
     
  4. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #4
    Wow that sux, mine will boot straight to the Ubuntu CD/DVD easily. Even the Magic Mouse works with Ubuntu. I can shutdown normally and boot straight to OSX every time. BTW Ubuntu 13.04 flys on the Mac Pro, it's far faster than on my PCs.
     
  5. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #5
    A buddy of mine wants to sell me his 08 Mac Pro for $500. Should I take it?
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    ^^^^Yep, I'd grab it if it's in good shape!

    Lou
     
  7. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #7
    I saw 2009 4,1 4 cores for $799 on MacofAllTrades.com. 2009 is upgradeable to 5,1 and Nehalem CPU and RAM is cheaper.
     
  8. WhiteIphone5 thread starter macrumors 65816

    WhiteIphone5

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #8
    Nice website. Are they legit?
     
  9. kevink2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #9
    Nothing I've seen online hints at where I should look at to fix it. I suspect that it may be software in some manner. I used to have bootcamp on the computer, and after removing it the first time I booted off a non apple CD I couldn't get back. Was ready to take it to an Apple store out of town when I did the battery removal trick.
     
  10. WMD macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #10
    They're a small operation, but they do great work. They also have very high inventory turnover, so if you're thinking about buying something from them, do it sooner rather than later.
     
  11. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    I want to install Ubuntu on my Mac Pro (2009 4,1). But I feared that the Live CD/Usb would not boot. It sounds like it worked for you.
    Did you successfully install? Do you have sound? How are the graphics?

    I put Ubuntu on my 2008 iMac awhile ago, but the driver support wasn't very good. No sound at all. And installing proprietary graphics drivers made it unbootable.

    Let me know how you got it to work. I'd love to install it.
     
  12. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    There was nothing different about it as compared to a PC. Everything worked fine out of the box. I didn't install to the HD at that time. If you decided to do a full install, I would suggest pulling the system HD during the install and putting it on a seperate drive (due to the Grand Unified Boot Loader - AKA: GRUB2). You don't want that installing on your OSX drive.

    In the end, I have now installed in a Virutal Machine. It runs great and is much more convient as compared to dual booting, but rest assured it works fine natively out of the box on my 5.1.

    ----------

    Both the LiveCD and LiveUSB worked perfectly for me in every regard. I have since decided to install it in a VMWare Virtual Machine instead. Not because of any issues, but because it's nice having both systems booted and just switching between desktops with a finger swipe.
     

Share This Page