Oldest Mac You Have Operational

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by tesseractny, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. tesseractny macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Location:
    Westchester County NY
    #1
    I've always wondered, since I'm still running a Performa, what is the oldest Mac anyone has that is still in use/operation, even for the most basic tasks.

    Mine is a Performa 6360CD, it runs as my old Quark Xpress 4.1 Machine which I do a lot of my writing on ( I know, call it superstition)
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    using is an imac 400mhz g3

    however i have a apple ll that i sometimes boot up for the heck of it lol. this was my family's only comp till 2000
     
  3. Crawn2003 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, California
    #3
    iMac G4 700MHz, that will soon see retirement... :(

    I have a few older Macs but I never run them.

    ~Crawn
     
  4. d_and_n5000 macrumors 6502a

    d_and_n5000

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #4
  5. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #5
    My first Mac- 12" Rev.D PowerBook G4!

    Still works like a charm. And Leopard works really well on it. Even shuts down faster than my new iMac!
     
  6. SteveG4Cube macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    MontCo., PA
    #6
    Funny, I just fired up the IIGS and played ZorkII for an hour this week. I haven't touched the oldest one, a 128k, in a few years, but the last time I checked it functioned perfectly.
     
  7. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
  8. JSchwage macrumors 6502a

    JSchwage

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #8
    Bondi Blue iMac. The only thing wrong with it is that the tabs on the side panel door are broken off, so the door doesn't always stay closed. Other than that, it's in tip top condition! I still have the Mac OS 8.5 CDs as well as a bunch of old software. :D
     
  9. RacerX macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #9
    I have tons of older systems, the oldest of which is a Macintosh IIcx (1989)... but the oldest of my systems that is set up and in regular use would most likely be my Quadra 950 (1992). If we are talking about daily use, then my PowerBook 3400c/200 (Feb. 1997) is my oldest laptop and my two Power Macintosh 8600/300s (Aug. 1997) are my oldest desktops (with my Power Macintosh G3 Mini Tower (Nov. 1997) following them pretty closely).

    When looking at the system software they are all running, it pushes the dates forward a little for each...
    Quadra 950..... Mac OS 8.1 (1998)
    PowerBook 3400c..... Mac OS 8.6 (1999)
    Power Macintosh 8600..... Mac OS 8.6 (1999)
    Power Macintosh 8600..... Mac OS X Server 1.2 (2000)
    Power Macintosh G3..... Mac OS X v10.3.9 (2003)​

    And Mac OS 8.1 (January 1998) just edges out Rhapsody 5.1 (May 1998) as the oldest Apple operating system that I use regularly... unless you count OPENSTEP 4.2 (which was released by Apple in January 1997). I run both Rhapsody 5.1 and (every so often) OPENSTEP 4.2 on my IBM ThinkPad 760ED and OPENSTEP 4.2 on my Sun SPARCstation 10. I haven't had a need to run OPENSTEP on my ThinkPad ever since I got FrameMaker 6 for my Mac OS 8.6 systems (I was using FrameMaker 3.2 in OPENSTEP on my ThinkPad because their wasn't a SPARC version for that app to run on my SS10).

    My newest system is a PowerMac G4 (1999) which replaced my iMac G3 (2000) as my newest system after I retired it. The newest system in our household is my wife's PowerBook G3 Pismo (2000), but I am hoping to be able to replace that system with a 14" iBook G3/900 (2003) for her in the next month or so.
     
  10. Kamera RAWr macrumors 65816

    Kamera RAWr

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    I'm where I need to be
  11. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  12. gavd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #12
    12" G4 Powerbook which is the second Mac I bought. Still works like a charm. I also have an iMac G3 which is the first Mac I had. It still works but I don't use it anymore.
     
  13. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Well I have a Mac Plus (complete with 20gb external SCSI HD) that I bought in 1987 that still works just fine, but I rarely boot it, so I guess it doesn't count...

    I do have an old B/W G3 in use as a server (alongside a G4-400). Both are still going strong =]
     
  14. Tom B. macrumors 65816

    Tom B.

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    I still use a 867MHz 12" PowerBook which is just over 4.5 years old. I'm just waiting till Macworld to order a MacBook. :D

    Also, my mum still uses a 500MHz iMac G3 SE, but she'll be using this PowerBook when I've finished with it.
     
  15. leekohler macrumors G5

    leekohler

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, Illinois
    #15
    My trusty and battered 1Ghz iBook G4. I love it so much. As a matter of fact, I'm sitting in a cafe right now with it.
     
  16. skunk macrumors G4

    skunk

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Location:
    Republic of Ukistan
    #16
    A 2001 500MHz G4 Cube, upgraded somewhat (1.2GHz processor, 120GB HD, 1.25GB RAM), with a 22" Cinema Display, still in daily use. There's very little difference in speed between that and my 24" iMac.
     
  17. toolbox macrumors 68020

    toolbox

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    Australia (WA)
    #17
    My oldest is the Se/30 I get this out now and a gain to make sure everything is ok. Next is the Quadra 605 and finially the Powerbook G4 12 Inch.
     
  18. ryannel2003 macrumors 68000

    ryannel2003

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    Greenville, NC
    #18
    As of right now... my 1.25GHz eMac G4. However, about a year ago I had a Bondi Blue iMac that was still running perfectly.
     
  19. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #19
    You might want to try turning the iMac on. ;)

    Just kidding. Computers got "fast enough" for most tasks a long time ago.
     
  20. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #20
    I still have my Apple IIe running. Only play Pac Man on it.

    A also have my Number Munchers machine a Performa 650. I have not turned that guy on in a year or so. So I can not say if it is operational or not.
     
  21. Wayfarer macrumors 65816

    Wayfarer

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
  22. eric55lv Guest

    eric55lv

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas,NV
    #22
    Performa 6360 and iMac G3 grapite got it when the iMac first hit store shelves
     
  23. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #23
    imac G4 1.25ghz 17'' 768mb 80gig superdrive

    runs leopard great
     
  24. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #24
    G4 Cube, August 2000 date of manufacture. Used every day.
     
  25. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #25
    900MHz iBook G3, the HD is dead but I can still run it off a live boot CD. I also have a Power Macintosh 7100/80 but im not sure if it works...
     

Share This Page