Oldest question: Mac or Pc

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Grecsi, Jan 9, 2014.

1. Grecsi macrumors newbie

Hello everyone

First of all, please excuse my English, I haven't use it for a long time...
    I've always been a pc user since I'm using computers from the age of 5, and I was a typical curious child who just took apart every electrical device to know whats inside the stuff, how its works etc. When I got my very first desktop pc ,of course I took it apart, but I never ruined it. also I used to love spending my time for gaming(I just regret it) Now my pc is a dell xps 17 laptop, I purchased it in 2011, still works fine, but getting really, incredible slow sometimes, and since I'm a college student I'm really not interested in games, mostly I use my laptop for converting videos, Lightroom, Photoshop , school stuff, organizing files, and really for just a few gaming, and other tasks, and I had to realize, a laptop just cant offer the real performance I need. (especially when I'm converting,or working with raw files)

I've checked out these Imac's, looks great and everything, but they use laptop gpu-s, and cpu-s. Even with the latest, highest details, is just not comparable with a desktop pc.

For example: The best Imac we can choose now: gtx 780m, i7 4771, 32gb ram
    I was thinking with the price of this I could get a desktop pc with: i7 4770, two gtx 780ti , an excellent motherboard, same amount of rams with overclocking and cooling.

But since I'm using Iphone, Ipod , Itunes, Icloud, Apple tv, Airplay, I realized, these things works just fine, and I love it! Would an Imac be a better choice for me, even more as a desktop with much higher details, or its just a "dog and pony show"..

I saw topics about comparing LAPTOP pc-s with Macbooks, but I would see topics about comparing Imac-s with desktop pc-s.