Oleophobic coating, Fruit Ninja, and scratches

Discussion in 'iPad' started by aperry, Mar 24, 2011.

1. aperry macrumors 6502a

I'm sure people will tell me I'm somehow "wrong", but I want to share my experience with scratches on the new iPad:

Got my iPad 32 black wifi on launch day. I didn't apply a screen protector, figuring I would wait until they become more available and cheaper. I'm still unclear as to whether the old screen protectors fit on the new iPad. The one I had left over didn't seem perfect, so didn't use it. Further, I've read that the black bezel is thinner on the new iPad, and the screen is the same, so I didn't see how it should fit.

Enter Fruit Ninja, a wonderfully fun game that I started playing with my son and.....my wife (with her polished finger nails). Now, Fruit Ninja is great fun and after a year's experience with an iPad1 and iPhone 4 I wouldn't have expected that you could scratch the coating with your fingernail. But we did. More specifically, I think my wife's nails did. Admittedly, she was playing quite violently and those fruit were being sliced with great velocity.

I didn't see the scratches at first, but when I gave it a good cleaning and put it under a halogen light at just the right angle, they lit up. Long arched fruit ninja movements horizontally across the screen. They are hard to see without the right light, but they definitely did not disappear no matter how much I cleaned the surface. I'm pretty sure they were in the coating and not the actual glass.

Today I got a replacement iPad because of a different issue, so I'm happy to be gone with the scratches. While at the mall I (very reluctantly!) ponied up $55 for the full-body Ghost Armor treatment. Aside from a very slight orange-peel effect, it seems pretty good so far.