Omg help I havn't a clue!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ryanZOMBIE, Aug 26, 2008.

  1. ryanZOMBIE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #1
    I connected my iphone up (2G) to itunes today to sync it and it would only give me the option to restore it from backup or as new phone so I was like okay.. and restored it.

    After about 2 1/2 hours it all restored and then went to sync but then flicked back to the restore only page. I restored it AGAIN and now after about 7 hours of restoring I give up... any clues?
     
  2. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5C1 Safari/525.20)

    Same thing happened to me a couple of days ago. I don't know what it is but I just unplugged my phone and it seems to be working ok but I am afraid to plug it back in.
     
  3. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #3
    I've noticed that when you do a restore from backup and the phone restarts iTunes asks you again if you want to setup as new or restore from backup. Simply say setup as new and it should all work fine.
    Don't know if it's a feature or bug in iTunes, but it's very confusing!
     
  4. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #4
    WORTHLESS Apple SOFTWARE!

    Welcome to my world for the THIRD time. Same thing happened to me on 2.0.2 update and after your same route eventually had to restore as new.

    Last night...updating App through App Store on iPhone and BANG...Crash again!!! This time completely removed all of the Apple software (4 programs) from my computer and cleaned the registry, then installed a completely fresh copy of iTunes, Quicktime and Updaters. Finally got the iPhone to be seen on iTunes and did a restore from backup. Same 2.5 hours later, it completes and the FRIGGIN screen goes back to restore AGAIN!!!

    In the middle of restoring as a new phone AGAIN. APPLE YOUR SOFTWARE SUCKS!!! You are WORSE then Windows right now and I am about fed up with this BS. SINCE 2.0 I have had more problems then I did the WHOLE FRIGGIN year with the original iPHone and Software.

    This is FRIGGIN ridiculous and how you can keep letting your users down, with out reason, explanation or ANYTHING is beyond me and totally PISS POOR customer service. APPLE is NO BETTER then WINDOWS!!!

    I will be damned if I am gonna buy the 3G or any other version of iPhone if this kind of garbage keeps happening. I was so sold on the Classic and totally LOVE it...But with this TRASH you are pushin now I will not buy another Apple product until you pull your heads out of your ars's and give your Apple users peace of mind and trust in your product's again!!!

    WAKE UP APPLE!!!
     
  5. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #5
    THEN why the FRACK should we even backup if we can't USE IT??? :mad:
     
  6. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #6
    Sorry, I should have been clearer as it appears you may have misunderstood what I meant: When you do a restore, the phone restores and then restarts (fully restored). When it has restarted, iTunes asks you again if you want to restore from backup or setup as a new phone.
    If you then select setup as a new phone it doesn't affect the phone at all (i.e. your restored data is left on the phone) - all it does is stop iTunes constantly asking the question about restoring the phone.

    In summary: if you need to restore the phone, do it once then if you get asked again simply select setup as new phone.
     
  7. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #7
    Sometimes software has problems. Software is NEVER perfect.

    If you are having problems, call Apple Care and get them to walk you through these problems, they will likely be able to help you, since while you only get one year of hardware coverage, you do get 2 full years of phone support.

    TEG
     
  8. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #8
    Not mad at you Phil...read my post above yours and when I read yours right after posting my RANT it kind of pissed me off even more. I have TRIED 5 times NOW to restore from my backup data and ALL have FAILED. I have had to keep starting over as new. I have had this phone for over a year...no PROBLEMS at ALL until 2.0 and now NOTHING works right...the SOFTWARE SUCKS and Apple DOES not CARE cause they keep selling iPhones and making their friggin money.

    So...no, I am not upset at your statement...I was only adding to it.

    I guess I am just at my wits end after helping people and hyping the iPhone for over a year to have Apple head south and turn their backs on everyone just does NOT MAKE SENSE.
     
  9. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #9
    TEG...I am not stupid...and have been helping others for over a year. I know what and how the system works. They CANNOT help me...my phone is over a year old and they will just want me to BUY another one of their glorious pieces of crap that ain't fixed yet. How can they help when it is THEIR SOFTWARE...the phone works fine except during App and iPhone updates since 2.0...the software is BROKE!!!
     
  10. ryanZOMBIE thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #10
    Nonononoon :( I have every text message from the past8 months I am not losing them!

    Anyone know if you can take this into Apple store ?
     
  11. melissarae macrumors regular

    melissarae

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Location:
    tampa, florida
    #11
    same thing just happened to me a few minutes ago.... so i came on here and just saw this after i just told it to restore for a 2nd time.

    after its done i'm going to just setup as new phone and see what happens. thanks.
     
  12. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #12
    Does the restore give a failure message or simply not work?

    I completely agree that the iPhone (3G and Version 2.0 for the original) is beset with problems and IMO they launched it far too soon - it was pretty obvious as the launch deadline approached they were a long way from having it working properly.

    I've been fairly lucky in that I've not really had any major problems, but my Daughter's (1st gen) phone did a pretty good impression of completely dying yesterday: It crashed when she was trying to install an app from the store and wouldn't get past the Apple logo. I did a full restore but the phone then crashed when going into settings and again froze up. I then did another restore and it seems OK so far.

    I absolutely love my iPhone (when it works properly) and the Apple touch is obvious in the styling and ease of use but I completely agree with you that the quality of the software engineering in the product is sadly lacking
     
  13. ryanZOMBIE thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #13
    Will I delete my text messages if I set up as new ?

    They're all I care about TBH. :)
     
  14. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #14
    No it didn't give any messages Phil. This has happened more then once...When I do the restore from backup...it takes over 2 hours gets to the end and the iPhone power recycles like it has always done in the past. When it reappears on iTunes it is the restore screen again...you have two choices and only two...restore as new or from backup again. No sync no nothing, it is as if it didn't do the restore the first time. The first time it happened to me I attempted to restore twice with backups and like the OP 7 hours later it wanted to do it again. It is not the iPhone, it is not iTunes (completely uninstalled all 4 apple programs along with registery cleaning and then installed a complete fresh download) It is the 2.0 software and App store updates.

    Look at this forum today...it is filled with Frozen, Crashed can't get iTunes to see iPhone...i mean I have never in over a year seen so many posts about the same thing happening. This is a MAJOR problem and may not affect everyone...YET...but unless its fixed soon you will see some major MAJORITY problems.

    The only fix is a COMPLETE new software rewrite using 1.1.4 as the base line because it WORKED. My phone works fine the rest of the time, no issues in syncing or operation. No crashes, no screen locks....nothing. Only during updates and App updates...That is SOFTWARE...No if's, and's or but's!!!
     
  15. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #15
    It didn't on mine - Once it was restored I just selected setup as new when I was asked the second time and continued using the phone. Everything was where it was before including SMSs. If you're really worried about them, give your phone a different name and it won't overwrite the old backups of your phone
     
  16. ryanZOMBIE thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #16
    Okay but if I set up as new but keep the same name, then backup this 'new phone' then if I ever have to restore again (and it actually works properley) then will backup the texts and stuff like usual?

    Gurr this thing is so annoying! My phone didn't crash or anything I simply connected it to sync some songs!
     
  17. ryanZOMBIE thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    #17
    Okay i went ahead and set it up as new with the same name anyway.
    I cancelled the sync clicked Texts and it showed up EMPTY but, it was just lag and I felt so relieved when all my conversations popped up :)

    Thanks for the help Phil :) Much appreciated!
     
  18. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #18
    Ryan...mine wiped out SMS, Notes and Pictures(which I did have saved) and was trying to get them back with restore from backup. NO dice...all gone because I had to restore as new...again.

    Now I use Evernote because I got friggin tired of loosin my notes and could not recover because the flippin backup would not restore.

    So be forewarned...if you have to restore as new because the other will not take then they will be gone.

    So Sorry...I feel your Pain personally. :(
     
  19. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #19
    Glad to help - and pleased it all worked out for you in the end :)
     

Share This Page