OMG What do I do

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by icesac26, Apr 5, 2007.

  1. icesac26 macrumors member

    icesac26

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #1
    I just got a G4 tower, with lots of ram, from a friend and it is giving me an error when I boot it up after the Initializing Internet connection. the error is "Fatal Card Reader error". and I want to erase it all and start it up as I have with my eMac. However, it is not working, what do I do. Please tell me step by step. Heeelllppp.

    Thanks in advance,

    Donny
     
  2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #2
    Initializing Internet Connection? Do you mean after you re-install OS X? I would try and avoid that internet stuff and take care of that setup once you get up and running.

    Not sure what the Reader Error is but do you have any peripherals connected?
     
  3. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    You're getting fatal card read error before or after Mac OS X boots?

    What do you mean initializing internet?
     
  4. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #4
    "initializing internet" is one of the things that shows up in the white box with the progress bar when the computer is booting. It usually goes by so quickly you can't read it. If you don't have an internet connection the boot seems to hang on it for a little while.

    I might guess that there is something wrong with the NIC.
     
  5. icesac26 thread starter macrumors member

    icesac26

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #5
    Init. Internet as the prev person said is what it does on the white box durring boot up. I will be buying a Airport card for it (still wondering, on that model where exactly to put it, but) Why is everything I try to reinstall and erase the HD not working, If I can just do that, I could prob fix this. btw... I know a lot about macs, and I know I used to know, but have forgot, what is an NIC again.

    Thanks,

    Donny
     
  6. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    This error shouldn't occur when you boot up holding down "C". Or does it?
    NIC card is your Network Interface Card (it's not a Mac thing).
     
  7. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #7
    Macs have NICs. Its what is on the other end of that ethernet port.
     
  8. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    NIC's are not a Mac only thing is what I should have said.
     
  9. icesac26 thread starter macrumors member

    icesac26

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #9
    gimmi, yes I hold c at start and it still does
     

Share This Page