On startup I have a circle with a slash?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Imola Ghost, May 17, 2009.

  1. Imola Ghost macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #1
    I didn't know what to do and it was right after a software update for iLife 09. It hung there for a little while and I just pressed and held the power button until the laptop turned off. I then restarted the laptop and ever since that instance I seem to have some rainbow spinning disc every now and then and the computer doesn't seem to be as peppy as it was.

    I've only had the Macbook for several days and I bought it brand new.

    Any ideas? I'm new to Mac's so please be gentle. LOL!!!
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    Sounds like you screwed the update ...

    Since it is only a few days old, I'd recommend a full reinstall from the gray discs.
     
  3. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #3
    JUst start it up again a couple of times. Or hold down the on button and reset pram.
     
  4. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #4

    What does this restarting a couple times do? And what is the "pram"?
     
  5. MrM macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #5
    PRAM means Parameter RAM. PRAM is pronounced "Pee-Ram" (just so you don't get confused)

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

    Check out that link.
     
  6. applefan69 macrumors 6502a

    applefan69

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Medicine Hat
    #6
    I think PRAM stands for Permanent Random Access Memory

    so its essentially a type of RAM that is permanently saved (assuming you understand what RAM (Random Access Memory) to your hard drive.) It saves data scuh as Start up disk... or the system time.

    Although ill admit i could be wrong... only reason i can imagine PRAM messsing you up is if it it became corrupted

    What I think is wrong is a corrupted upgrade from the restarting you computer during upgrade. Hard restarts (restart where you force the hardware to shut down by holding the power button) during an upgrade is giant NO-NO!

    I would have thought you knew that from windows or whatever OS you used to use. (ubtuntu, Fedora, etc.) that you knew better, so just be happy that things still semi-work! =]

    you might have to re-install OS X with the grey disks that came with your computer. But if your not ready to do tht I would recomend downloading the "combo updater" and installing that CORRECTLY, that may fix your problems.



    =====
    If that doesn't fix your problems, my next step would be ready to blame your hardware (since its a new computer) and from there i would run a hardware test (again with those grey disks that came with your computer)
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    No, it stands for Parameter Random Access Memory :)
     
  8. Amdahl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    #8
    Run Disk Utility from boot disks.

    Boot from the system discs and run a Repair Disk from Disk Utility and then Repair Permissions. And if it doesn't seem to fix the problem, you may be looking at a complete Erase & Install of the system. Back up whatever you can/need from the disk.
     
  9. Imola Ghost thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    #9
    thanks, but will Repair Disk be able to retain my programs and settings? Or will I have to reinstall my programs, setup Mail and setup a few other things I need?
     

Share This Page