On the road with a camera and aperture 3

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by jkyndt, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. jkyndt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Shanghai
    #1
    Hi,

    I travel regularly with my Canon dSLR & MBP but do most of my post-shot editing & processing when I'm back at home with my 27" iMac.

    I use the MBP as "temporary" area for photo selection, keywording, geo-positioning & "faces" in Aperture 3 when travelling, but I have not found the most optimal workflow for importing all the new photos & contents (keywords, etc...) into my main library.

    Can anyone suggest what could be done?
    Cheers
     
  2. flynz4 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    I have not been doing this myself yet... but Robert Boyer covers this extensively in his ebooks. I find his explanations incredible. I believe the basic idea is to use referenced images, and move them back and forth between libraries by importing/exporting entire projects. Read his work to be sure.

    http://photo.rwboyer.com/

    /Jim
     
  3. Vel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #3
    I do something very similar but the method I use is as follows:
    I purchased a WD HDD which supports both USB2 and FW800 (I have an original Unibody MB without FW)
    I store my library on the HDD and then I just connect the drive to my MB when travelling and to my iMac when at home.
    I have heard people in the past say that Aperture doesn't really like external drives, but if I've never had any issues with this setup,

    Vel
     
  4. juanm macrumors 65816

    juanm

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Fury 161
    #4
    I've used a similar setup on the road in Australia for a year:
    MacBook Pro with Aperture (2) with the library on a RAID 1 array via FW800 on two hard drives installed in Macsales' cases.

    It worked flawlessly, save for the battery life! MacBook Pro + Aperture + 2xHard drives + Card reader = very short autonomy!
    Get a car inverter, and you'll be all set.
     
  5. jkyndt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Shanghai
    #5
    thanks for sharing your experiences.
    I'll see what I'll do :)
     
  6. Hutch98R1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #6
    I do the same! I keep my Library on a portable external(USB powered), so whatever computer I use, it is looking at the same library. I also keep a vault at home on a normal external drive.

    No problems here with using an external to house my library.
     
  7. csau06 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Brisbane
  8. jkyndt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Location:
    Shanghai
    #8
    tried the merge function today and it works just as described.
    thanks for the tip :)
     

Share This Page