Carrier One 6s - Two Carriers (ATT, T-Mobile)??

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ZipZap, Jan 21, 2016.

  1. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #1
    I want to test out the quality of the t-Mobile service in my home area before I consider switching.

    My iPhone 6s is currently on ATT. Is it as simple as setting up service with t-mobile SIM and inserting the SIM?

    Can the same IMEI be active with different carriers?

    I just dont want the ATT service to be switched or shut off until I am sure.
     
  2. Newtons Apple macrumors Pentium

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    If you pull you ATT sim card you should be good to go with T-Mo. When done just re-insert your ATT sim card and you are back on the ATT network. ATT has no way of knowing and it will do no harm
     
  3. ilkevinli macrumors 6502

    ilkevinli

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    It will for fine as long as the iPhone is unlocked. You can switch the sims back and forth as much as you want.
    I did the same thing with Verizon and T-mobile.

     
  4. imlynxy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #4
    Hi ,it is not a problem with IMEI at all,. The only thing your iPhone should be SIM unlocked. You can apply for unlock at Att website, sometimes they unlock even if your phone is under the contract/next. https://www.att.com/deviceunlock/

    I swap my SIM cards all the time since I use Att mostly domestically and t-mo for roaming. Please let us know how do you like t-mo. A lot of people want to jump to t-mo and every opinion is valuable now.
     
  5. ZipZap thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #5
    Thanks all. My 6s is unlocked.
    Mostly hoping the new tmo low freq band helps.
    Going to get a sim, try and cancel if no good.

    With tmo I can tether on unlimited and combine two current plan payments into one.
     
  6. ross1998 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #6
    Just remember tethering is only 7gb on the unlimited plan
     
  7. imlynxy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #7
    When I talked to At&t last couple times I was confirmed that if don't like T-mo you can go back to Att within 59 days and they can reinstate you present account. But anyway it is better to try before you port the number to them. There is a very good plan in Walmart 30& 100 min/ 5GB just to try T-mobile.
    To be honest T-mo is slower than couple months ago, but usable (I think this is because of J Legere's gift of unlimited data to everybody till the end of March). LTE 12 is not very fast. With old unlimited plans you could tether 7gb , with present 14 Gb. I have the old plan 100$x2 with 7Gb.

    P.S. If you use FaceTime , I advice you to test it. I found and there were couple reports that it is not the same quality on T-mo vs wifi/Attt
     
  8. ZipZap thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #8
    Its actually 14gb by default. And you can arrange for more though i am sure there is added cost.

    Att unlimited is 0 thethering.

    Tmo throttles at 22gb though not sure if automatically.
     
  9. ross1998 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #9
    Oh yeah my bad, totally forgot they doubled it for the non 70$ unlimited plan users
     

Share This Page