One click cloning Leopard + Win Xp Hard Disk

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Cixi, Oct 16, 2008.

  1. Cixi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #1
    Hello.
    I'm here since time has come to change my 160Gb Hard Disk of my Macbook Pro into a 500Gb Hard Disk.

    Now the problem is:
    I have 80Gb for Leopard and 80Gb for WinXp. I use Bootcamp ad Boot manager.
    I can easely connect the new 500Gb Hard Disk to the MacBook Pro USB to clone the internal 160Gb HD.
    Is there any Win or OSX software that allow me to clone both partition in one time to have the system ready immediately without to
    1) Enter OSX and clone with CCC
    2) Swap to Win Xp usign Bootcamp
    3) Clone WinXp using Acronis
    4) Format the 500Gb HD
    5) Installing Leopard
    6) Restore OSX with CCC
    7) Installing XP using Bootcamp
    8) Restore XP using Acronis
    ???

    Hope you can help me out in this case.
    I hope I can find a software that clone bit-to-bit surface the I will resize the new HD partition once cloned using Partition Manager.
    Thank You for your help
    Regards.
     
  2. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #2
    Nope ccc or superduper for OS X and something like winclone for windows
     
  3. Cixi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #3
    "Nope" stand for: "you have to do 1 to 8 procedure"?

    If so I'll try Acronis 10.

    Thank You
     
  4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    Actually Nope stands for

    1. Enter OSX and clone XP (Winclone) and OSX (CCC)
    2. Format HDD
    3. Boot off cloned device and clone back OS X
    4. Boot into OS X from internal HDD and use Winclone to create partition and clone XP back.

    IIRC.
     
  5. Cixi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #5

    Does not exist a 1 to 1 cloning so I can just clone the internal HD to the USB attached new HD so I just swap it after cloning and everything is running?

    So your extend procedure is:
    1) Enter OSX
    2) Clone XP + CCC
    3) Swap HD in the macbook
    4) Install Back Lepoard
    5) With CCC Clone back Old Leopard Partition
    6) Install Bootbamp and resize the partition (I want 100Gb OSX, 100GB Win and 300Gb Common Data)
    7) Use Winclone to restore the partition
    ??
    I missed some step in your explanation sorry. I'm not as forward as you in doing this kinda things.
    :(

    Thank You
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    As far as I am aware there is nothing out there that will do this. It is rather annoying.

    At this point you are able to boot off the external drive that you cloned to initially (or even the HDD that you took out of your MB) and then clone the information back onto the internal drive. This will save you some time.

    That is essentially the procedure.

    It will save you some time however if you are comfortable with Acronis then perhaps it is best for you to follow your first route.
     
  7. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #7
    you can use dd to clone an entire drive to another (I am pretty sure this will do what you want but I'll leave you to google the exact options to use).

    I use dd to clone drives when they are dying, and the beauty is it doesnt really care what format the drive is.

    worth spending some time googling me thinks
     
  8. Cixi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #8

    DD stand for? Disk Dup?
    Is that a Win App or a OSX App?
    What firm produce it? Just to search the prog.
    Thankx :)
     
  9. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #9
    /bin/dd

    its part of the BSD Based MAC OS X

    man dd for its manual page
    otherwise google ftw
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    OP,

    i recently put in a 500gb HD in my laptop, works great.

    i, like you had this dilemma. i found that the easiest and most secure way was to use osx's built in "copying program", by backing up using time machine :) that worked excellent.

    note: i have yet to restore my bootcamp partition because..well.. i dont need it. i have put my old HD into an external case cia USB and i boot from that, if that isnt what your after then i suggest you

    1) make the image with WinClone or similar (i HATE winclone and it hates me back)
    2)install leopard however you wish
    3)partition your HD to suit your size using DIsk Utility AFTER everything is working with osx
    4)once partitioned, oepn Disk Utility and choose your partition, then choose restore and find the bootcamp image to restore from.

    that should work for you
     
  11. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #11



    Sorry Cixi but it was early in the morning when i posted my reply what i meant was by nope is you cant clone over two OS's at the same time,I'm sorry but i was tired ,xUKHCx has stated the correct procedure
     
  12. Cixi thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #12

    No problem at all.
    Thank You anyway for your reply. :)
     

Share This Page