One Mac Pro, One PC, Sharing Same Monitor?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by AdiosVista, Aug 13, 2009.

  1. AdiosVista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #1
    I tried searching mroogle for awhile but I could not find the answers I needed. I apologize if this is a repeat question.

    My situation is I have a 2008 Mac Pro desktop, a PC gaming machine, and a 30" ACD. My goal is to hook both machines up the one monitor and then be able to switch from one computer to the other.

    Yes, I have bootcamp, yes I have vmware, no I don't like running windows on my mac! Plus, the PC is for gaming, like I said, and my mac is work only. I really don't feel like shelling out $350 for a decent mac video card when I can buy the same one for under $100 on the PC.

    My question is can this be possible? My first thought is the ACD has too few input options. That being said, does anyone know if this would be much easier with a Dell 30"? I'm not opposed to selling the ACD and buying a Dell monitor.

    Any info is much appreciated.
     
  2. AdiosVista thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #3
    Very interesting, that looks like the solution. Mind explaining a little more? Is the quality ok? Will I have any issues using this method with the ACD or do I need to switch to Dell monitor? Thanks.
     
  3. MacFanUK macrumors 6502a

    MacFanUK

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    You would have to get a KVM switch that supports Dual-Link DVI. There are many cheap KVM switches out there that just have bog standard DVI connectors which won't work with the 30" ACD.

    As far as I know, you won't lose any quality by using a KVM switch because all it does it gives you 2 inputs for 1 output. I used a KVM on a 23" ACD and hooked up a Macbook and a PC some time ago and it worked great.

    The Dell would be easier as they have a button to switch between inputs, but it really depends if you wanna sell that ACD.
     
  4. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #5
    Also consider if you want to share audio/mic and usb devices.

    I'm guessing the answer is yes. I have the Iogear version and it works well.
     
  5. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #6
    If you don't feel like sharing the mouse/keyboard, speakers, etc, wouldn't a monitor with two DVI inputs, or one DVI and a DVI-HDMI adapter be fine?
     
  6. rkdiddy macrumors 65816

    rkdiddy

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    OC Baby!
    #7
    Yes sir, if your monitor allows you to switch between input sources.
     
  7. lixuelai macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #8
    Lol this is why you dont get the 30" ACD and get something like the HP LP3065 ;)

    Anyway you need a Dual Link DVI switch. I think the Belkin Flip DVI-D is the cheapest at about $120.
     

Share This Page