One thing I miss on the virtual keyboard...

Discussion in 'iPad' started by LadyHoneyBabe, Apr 17, 2010.

  1. HengenJL macrumors 6502a

    HengenJL

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #2
    I agree arrow keys would be a phenomenal addition to the virtual keyboard. Yes you can use your finger to move the cursor but sometimes it takes a couple of tries to get the cursor exactly where you want it, arrow keys would definitely make things easier. Hmm probably ought to send Apple feedback on adding arrow keys to the virtual keyboard.
     
  2. ZZ Bottom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #3
    do they work from bluetooth keyboards, or is that capability completely blocked?
     
  3. LadyHoneyBabe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #4
    Thanks I'll submit a feedback request.

    http://www.apple.com/feedback/
     
  4. calebz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    #5
    HA!

    Before I clicked your post, I remembered all the tech. websites complaints and went: "No arrow keys."

    And her we are. :D The very good thing is that maybe that can be just a software upgrade.

    I agree with you, BTW.
     
  5. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #6
    Arrow keys would be nice and very helpful when doing a lot of text editing, the other thing that really bugs me is the lack of apostrophe on the home key page. It's something I use far, far more commonly than the exclamation mark, which is on the home page. I know you can tap and hold that key to get an apostrophe instead of navigating to another page, but either way it slows your typing to a halt.

    Another thing it needs is a Tab key. How the heck are you supposed to tab over in a word processor (Pages, for example)?
     
  6. LadyHoneyBabe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #7
    I didn't know tech websites complained about this. I hope Apple took notes and already added it in the 4.0 upgrade. *fingers crossed*
     
  7. edlex macrumors 68000

    edlex

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Miami
    #8
    Doesn't it include the apostrophe for you like on the touch?
     
  8. Don Kosak macrumors 6502a

    Don Kosak

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    #9
    Pages has a tab key up in the control bar. You set tabs by doing a long touch on the ruler. Slide tab stops by dragging your finger, tap to change from left tab, to center, or right. Took me a minute to get used to it, but it works fine.
     
  9. jclardy macrumors 68040

    jclardy

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #10
    They do work, in pages at least. In safari you have to use the touchscreen. Pages also let's you use Cmd-A, Cmd-C and other shortcuts like that.
     
  10. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #11
    If you mean does the autocomplete engine insert it the answer is yes, but only sometimes. It's inconsistent and unreliable. Sometimes when I type "youre", it will insert it, sometimes it will not, and if I always have to check whether it did or not, and go back to correct it, it kind of defeats the purpose. Then you also have the problem of "it's" vs. "its".

    Hmm OK, thanks, I'll try that. Still, I think it would be useful to have a Tab key available on the keyboard as it would be useful it many applications where you need an actual Tab character and not an arbitrary ruler tab stop.
     
  11. McMack macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Location:
    England
    #12
    You can get an apostrophe from the front keyboard: just press and hold the full stop key, and an apostrophe option will appear. If you don't want to wait, tap the full stop and swipe up (do it quickly) and it will print an apostrophe straightaway. I use this second option now, it's very easy once you get the hang of it.
     
  12. Indydenny macrumors 6502

    Indydenny

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    Midwest
    #13
    Or

    Or just press the comma key for a second and it becomes the apostrophe!
     
  13. rmcmast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #14
    I would also like to see a tab key. Would make filling out login's and web forms easier.
     
  14. Alchematron macrumors 65816

    Alchematron

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    Maui Hawaii
    #15
    There needs to be the option of configuring a custom virtual keyboard ;)
     
  15. admanimal macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #16
    Don't the Previous and Next buttons that appear above the keyboard achieve the same effect?
     
  16. LadyHoneyBabe thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #17
    That would be nice, but I would like to see the arrow keys, which don't exist on the keyboard, added to the keyboard somehow.
     
  17. aaron580 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
  18. master-ceo macrumors 65816

    master-ceo

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    The SUN
    #19
    you can use the previous and next @ the top of the keyboard
     
  19. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #20
    There actually is, the problem is only developers can do it for a specific app. User configuration might be good, but I can see that easily being a mess too, and a support headache for Apple.
     
  20. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #21
    Ah hah! That's the tip I've been looking for, thanks! I knew you could hold it down but that wasn't that convenient (too slow), the swipe gesture is perfect though. :)

    Is there a list of iPad keyboard shortcus, tips, and tricks somewhere?
     
  21. noneother macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #22
    How do you caps lock? My pad doesn't do it like the iPhone does.
     
  22. HiRez macrumors 603

    HiRez

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Western US
    #23
    Same way, double tap Shift, but you have to enable lock first in Settings > General > Keyboard.
     
  23. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #24
    Anyone know how to get a degree symbol? I found the "•" (long press the "-") but can't seem to find a degree symbol...
     
  24. Indydenny macrumors 6502

    Indydenny

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Location:
    Midwest

Share This Page