Online Activation: What determines Area Code for new numbers?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JNB, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #1
    Watching the activation vid again, it doesn't demonstrate any ability to choose area code or number, but I believe that it can be implied that your home phone (and/or other factors) may determine the area code and prefix assigned to new numbers.

    In my case (Phoenix area), we have three: 602, 623, 480. I would prefer 623, as that's my home area code and also for my office direct lines. My current Sprint # has a 602, which is fine functionally, but I would prefer to choose, and if I (apparently) can't, then assignment based on my existing home area code is preferable.

    Actually, I want to be able to pick the specific digits of the phone number as well, or at least the last four. I'm not sure they're even that helpful in-store. Looks like a pre-release visit to the local AT&T store Friday morning. If I get any definitive answers, I'll post as soon as I get back...
     
  2. ps49556n macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #2

    Area codes for new numbers are determined by region given when signing up and availability.
     
  3. AaronHeth macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Savannah, Georgia
    #3
    I wondered the same thing, as I am a college student and am on vacation now, but I noticed a few things in the activation video.

    I believe they would use your billing address, however there is a question asking "Is this where you will primarily use your phone?" and there is a no button, meaning you can probably specify the are code you will be using it in. That's what I hope anyways. :)
     
  4. wakka092 macrumors 6502

    wakka092

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #4
    ...Have you ever looked at an area code map in a phone book? :rolleyes:
     
  5. terrrrrible macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    #5
    It's probably going to be based off of where your billing information is.
     
  6. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #6
    They usually give you a list of choices for phone numbers but they don't let you pick the last 4 digits.

    Who knows how it will work on the iPhone.
     
  7. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #7
    area code is based on the region and the lot of numbers they're given at that store from what i was told when i got my phones. for example, where i live you can have a 443, 410, or 301 area code. the AT&T store and every store in the same mall has a 410 area code. however, they only have 443 area codes for their mobile numbers.

    i know if you're doing a family plan you can ask for numbers close in sequence, but i'm not sure if you can ask for a specific 4 digit suffix.
     

Share This Page