Online Backup Options

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Labhras, Nov 6, 2016.

1. Labhras macrumors regular

Hi all,
    I have a 2014 13" MBA and backup with Time Machine on an external drive.
    I was looking at online backup apps, and it seems the best ones, excluding iCloud Drive, are Backblaze and Crashplan.
    I have read bad reviews of both, currently I have a 50GB iCloud storage for my iPhone backups.
    I wanted to know if you feel that a second online backup would be a good choice, and if so, considering that both Crashplan and Backblaze are at 5$/month, which one do you think would be the best choice for the available features.
    Thanks for your help

2. HDFan, Nov 6, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2016

HDFan macrumors 6502a

I use both Crashplan and Backblaze. Just be aware that if you are backing up terabytes of data (in my case ~9 TB) the initial backup can take months. Can't remember exactly how long mine took, but it was in the 3 - 6 month range. My sense is that Backblaze does the initial backup much faster, but for some reason iStat Menus didn't seem to show Backblaze network activity during it's initial backup so I can't confirm that and I don't remember how many months it took.

Backblaze has a list of files that it excludes. The default list includes directories such as Applications, Library, and System but you can easily change them. It also has a list of excluded file types that it will not back up:

wab~,vmc,vhd,vdi,vo1,vo2,vsv,vud,iso,dmg,sparseimage,sys,cab,exe,msi,dll,dl_,wim,ost,o,qtch,log,ithmb,vmdk,vmem,vmsd,vmsn,vmss,vmx,vmxf,menudata,appicon,appinfo,pva,pvs,pvi,pvm,fdd,hds,drk,mem,nvram,hdd

You can edit this list.

Crashplan doesn't have such a complex exclude list.