Online Education store vs Developer Student Membership.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by KTK1990, Jan 6, 2009.

1. KTK1990 macrumors 6502

Well, I was planning on waiting untill snow lepord, but my Hp Pavilion Dv8000t is about ready to die, so I need a replacement for it.

I am a student at a community college that is listed in the online Education store. But, I have herd that you can pay $99 and get a % discount off one laptop.

Is it 20%? 25%? 5%? I herd it varies by product. And which would be cheaper to get this laptop.

17 inch Macbook Pro.
    2.93Ghz processor
    4 gigs of ram
    the Anti-Glare screen
    The $99 printer. (Canon PIXMA iP4600 Photo Printer) (It should be free, there is a $100 rebate thing)
    And apple Care.

2. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

I believe it's 20%.

And I won't say don't get the 2.93GHz, as you may have your reasons.

3. KTK1990 thread starter macrumors 6502

I plan on using this pc as a desktop replacement. Putting Vista Ultimate 64 bit on it (100 gig Boot camp partition). Used for Gaming, Programming, 3d modeling... And when RAM prices go down, putting 8 gigs of RAM in it.

I also would like to have this laptop last a while. I found it is extremly expensive to upgrade the processors. It was around a $400 upgrade to get the better processor on my sisters Dell XPS M1710. And now to get that same processor it is around $1,500. I dont want to make that mistake again :p.

4. FuzzMonkey macrumors newbie

You're buying a mbp 17" to run....vista?

Just noticed the boot camp bit, whoops!

5. Demosthenes X macrumors 68000

Demosthenes X

Be aware that the 17" does not share the 15" Pro's user expandability. From the sounds of it, Apple does not officially support users replacing RAM or the HD themselves. :/

I'm sure it's doable, but it sounds like it'll be a bit of a PITA.

6. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

kastenbrust

Do you know something we dont? :p whats wrong with the 2.93 version?