only 1 Firewire 800 Port - how to upload video and store to external HD

Discussion in 'iMac' started by VenaticOutdoors, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. VenaticOutdoors macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #1
    I have a new iMac quad core i7 and am wondering how to connect my WD external hard drive via the firewire 800 port AND connect my hd video camera for uploading footage via the same port.

    I came across a couple option but not sure how they will work.

    1.) can I connect to this iMac via Gigabit Ethernet to my external hard drive?
    2.) Should I get a powered firewire hub?
    3.) should I find someone to install an eSata connection on my new iMac.

    Any help is appreciated!
     
  2. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #2
    Most (many?) Firewire devices have a 2nd port for use in daisy-chaining devices....does your HD enclosure?
     
  3. VenaticOutdoors thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #3
    Yes, but can you utilize that port to upload the footage and will final cut pro recognize that? (I can't test, the system is in the mail on it's way here)
     
  4. 0007776 Suspended

    0007776

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    yes you can use that firewire port for anything you could use the built in one for.
     
  5. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #5
    Using a few GRAID2, Ive attached up to 3 FW800 plus an FW400 (using proper cable). Just make sure FW800 unit is the first attached to host machine to keep speed up. Usually its MPB > GRAID2 > GRAID2 > GRAID2 > miniDV camera (FW400 unit).
    Hmm I hope I got that right?
     
  6. mjsmke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Thats right. But if you were to read/write to/from all your drives at the same time they wont run at 800Mb/s each. This speed will be shared between them as the cable from the iMac to first FW800 drive has a max speed of 800Mb/s.

    A FW800 hub will have the same effect.
     
  7. mBox macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    #7
    I have not experienced any hiccups with my set-up. The camera only gets used at playback or capture.
    The hard-drives are not all used at once. I tend to put specifics projects in one drive a time.
     
  8. VenaticOutdoors thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #8
    excellent. I will try this and if I experience problems, I will be sure to ask more questions. You've all be very helpful.
     
  9. gameface macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #9
    Some cameras have 'deck control' issues when daisy chained. One thing you may need to do if your camera is like this is capture to your system drive (maybe partition a scratch section if you are going to do this all the time?) and copy to your external after capture. Then delete from your system drive. It isn't ideal by any means, but it may be your only free method of doing it if your camera doesn't play nice.

    And yes if the drive is connected to your network you should be able to access it from your computer.
     
  10. VenaticOutdoors thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    #10
    Well I tried it out last night with my current set up iMac g5 1.83 core duo ( I think those are the g5's), etc...WD MyBook with firewire 400 ports. It seemed to work flawlessly. I was quite surprised and happy to know that I can get by without spending more money at this point!
     

Share This Page