Only 2 Wi-Fi bars when sitting right next to router

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by louis0nfire, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. louis0nfire macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #1
    It goes to 3 bars now and then for a minute but 90% of the time it's only at 2 bars. I'm sitting right next to the router also. My laptop picks up the signal with full bars. What could be the issue? It's an old linksys router, but if it works for my laptop it should give my iphone full connection. Thanks.
     
  2. djejrejk macrumors 6502a

    djejrejk

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Location:
    Uhh...
    #2
    Generally, with 802.11 (especially N) you will not get great reception while sitting very close to your router. There is probably nothing wrong with the router, then again, I am no expert.
     
  3. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #3
    There isn't anything between you and the router, or close by right?

    See if you can find a different router and test it.



    But, i am an expert, and i used to set up wireless networks. It shouldn't be an issue, since the iPhone is getting a 66% signal, and as long as the signal strength is stronger than your internet speed, there is no issue, unless you are transferring files from your iPhone to computer on WiFi, which you can't.
     
  4. louis0nfire thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #4
    On my desk I have my monitor (desktop), my laptop sitting in front of the router (router is pushed back and under a wood platform that my monitor sits on
     
  5. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #5
    But is it really that much of an issue?

    Go away from your router and see if the signal stays strong.
     
  6. louis0nfire thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #6
    Not a huge issue, just bothers me cuz it should be full when i'm within 15 feet of the router.
     
  7. louis0nfire thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #7
    Also, in the options on the iphone, should I set it to static, or one of the other 3 options there? What's the difference?
     
  8. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    I was always under the impression that the number of bars indicated connection speed, not signal level.
     
  9. canucks-17 macrumors regular

    canucks-17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #9
    Another reason why it could be on and off is because of a cordless phone. I noticed this when using my wireless N. If I am talking, the wireless plummets. Hope that helps :).
     
  10. westernmass macrumors 6502

    westernmass

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Location:
    Western Mass.
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A93 Safari/419.3)

    I was planning on asking this question as well. Mine jumps from all bars to one all over the house. I wondered about the firmware on the router. It as well is about three or four years old. I worry that is not as easy as I think. I thought maybe the phone becuase it is like this at other places. Just wierd like now when I started typing it was on but been full for tv rest.
     
  11. louis0nfire thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    #11
    Could it be because my router is 802.11b and the signal isn't strong enough to produce 3 bars?
     
  12. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #12
    Are you running 1.1.3?
    I've noticed that since the update, I have a similar issue.
    I am 10 feet away from my router and only get 1 or 2 bars in Wi-Fi.
    1.1.2 showed it at full strength even out in the yard.
     
  13. louis0nfire thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
  14. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #14
    Anything that is metal or some sort of substance can have an effect on WiFi. Things that operate on the same frequency (especially 2.4GHz cordless phones), TV's, Kitchen Appliances ETC.

    And although that obviously isn't the issue in this case, i would just wait and see until the next firmware update. I have a Linksys router that i can get signal all the way across my neighborhood, so it just depends.
     

Share This Page