Only 3 GB showing up on Vista!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by superspiffy, Apr 9, 2008.

  1. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #1
    After upgrading my machine to 4 GB, I was stunned to see that Vista 32 bit only recognizes 3 GB of it. I thought it was XP that can't fully recognize all 4GB, not Vista. Is there a program I can download that will let me utilize all of it?
     
  2. jdaco6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #2
  3. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #3
    32bit software will only recognize ~3GB no matter what... it has nothing to do with the version, Vista or XP and everything to do with the fact that the OS is 32 bit. Move to 64bit Vista and you will have all 4GB utilized.
     
  4. superspiffy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #4
    but... so expensive... :(
     
  5. jdaco6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #5
  6. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #6
    True.. are you using Vista on the machine more than OS X? 3GB is still going to be plenty, but, if you are spending a lot of time in Vista and need all 4GB then your only option is to go with 64 bit Vista.
     
  7. jdaco6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #7
    Why are you all egnoring me i know i am new and all but still! If he already has 32bit edition then he can upgrade for £7 using this link https://om.one.microsoft.com/opa/Va...f8e478f92c9&LocaleCode=en-us&JavaScriptOn=yes !!!!!!!!!
     
  8. nikhsub1 macrumors 68000

    nikhsub1

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    mmmm... jessica.'s beer...
    #8
  9. jdaco6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #9
    Sorry overeacted a bit!! lol
     
  10. burningrave101 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #10
    There is a place where you can download the Vista anytime upgrade DVD in either 32-bit or 64-bit versions for free legally. I already downloaded the 32-bit version myself from there. Then you just need your Windows Vista key you're using on the 32-bit version to activate the 64-bit version. When you buy either the 32-bit or 64-bit versions of Vista you have both available to you to install. You just have to have the media to install it. I believe Vista Basic is the only version that doesn't offer the 64-bit.
     

Share This Page