Ooops, no more Velocity X2 and Fasta 6GU3 w/ Yosemite, 5,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Macshroomer, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. Macshroomer macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #1
    Well I goofed, damn Yosemite worked perfect on my late 13” rMPB but I forgot all about my Apricorn Velocity 2 card and Cal Digit USB3 / eSATA cards on my 5,1 Mac Pro…they are not working correctly at the moment. I need to do a control hold boot or I get a “?” mark and the Cal Digit card is totally dead.

    So my dilemma is this, my last backup was via my time capsule, I can not boot from that nor can I get that data onto another drive as it is a sparsebundle file. But, I do have a drive off site with a time machine backup from a week ago. What I am wondering is can I revert to that OS and then update it with the last time capsule backup?

    It’s a shame really as Yosemite already is a more stable OS than craptastic Mavericks but I need this hardware to work as executed.
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
    I'm running from an Apricorn Velocity Duo x2 on Yosemite as I type this. The only issue I have, is that my Velocity Solo x2 will not boot with the Duo installed. However, the Solo works just fine (even with another Solo installed) on Yosemite. Your issue is not with Yosemite or the Velocity card. Something else is at play here. My Mac is a 5,1 (Dual Quad 3.46). I am also running a USB 3.0 Card (a RocketU 1144C). Also working perfectly in Yosemite.

    Lou
     
  3. Macshroomer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #3
    Yes, and that corruption could be coming from the Caldigit card. I just need to know if I can revert back via the methods I cited above, I'll worry about the other stuff later.
     
  4. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #4
    I had a problem with the Solo x2 working along with the original CalDigit FASTA card as well. Finally solved it by upgrading to the CalDigit FASTA PRO card.

    However, could you not temporarily relocate the SSD from the x2 card to one of your drive sleds, remove the x2 card to eliminate the conflict, then restore via your CalDigit eSATA to your SSD. Then, once running again, deal with the card conflict issue as you desire?
     
  5. Macshroomer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #5
    To be frank and honest, I have never been real impressed with the current Cal Digit card and have thought about upgrading to the new one anyway. So maybe I will do that and then re-do the SSD placement.

    Hope it works, I want to get at least a few more years out of this computer.
     
  6. Macshroomer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #6
    Got the new FASTA Pro card in, that did the trick for getting my USB3 and eSata devices back up, actually hits USB3 speeds too.

    But after several drive bay swaps, my Velocity X2 card is still needing a hold control boot. So I am not sure what to do in that regard. Just as an fyi, I have all 4 drive bays taken up with spinners for storage, one optical slot is DVD and the second one is 240GB Photoshop scratch.

    I'll just run with it for awhile, not shut down and see if any OS updates fix it. At least it is smoother than Mavericks...
     
  7. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #7
    Have you tried a PRAM reset now that you have everything configured again? That seems to solve a lot of "boot" problems. :cool:
     
  8. Macshroomer thread starter macrumors 65816

    Macshroomer

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    #8
    Forgot about that, worked a charm sir, worked a charm!
     

Share This Page