OpaqueMenuBar?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by thesdx, Nov 2, 2007.

  1. thesdx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #1
    Has anyone tried this app? Is there a way to go back to the semitransparent menu if I don't like it?
     
  2. SamIchi macrumors 68030

    SamIchi

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #2
    I don't know why apple made it transparent anyways. It doesn't do anything. They should've had the options to have either. But it really doens't bother me.
     
  3. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Just quit the application (from Activity Monitor). Et voila!
     
  4. Arkanok macrumors 6502a

    Arkanok

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    #4
    Honestly, I can't figure out why people hate the transparent menubar so much. I don't find it very hard to see anything on it, therefore it doesn't bother me one way or another. Why it really pisses some people off, I'll never know... I'm not saying I prefer it, but I don't hate it any more than the Tiger menubar either.
     
  5. byakuya macrumors 6502a

    byakuya

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #5
    maybe some users dislike it because it resembles windows vista too much.
    I myself think it looks rather bad than good...
     
  6. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #6
    How do I quit it when it doesn't show up in Activity Monitor, and nothing happens when I use the com killall command in Terminal?
     
  7. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Have you upgraded to 10.5.2 yet? This app is useless, the menu bar can now be controlled via System Preferences.
     
  8. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #8
    I know, that's why I want to get rid of it.
     
  9. Quillz macrumors 65816

    Quillz

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    Do a Spotlight search for all references to "OpaqueMenuBar." Make sure you tell Spotlight to search through the system files, as well.
     
  10. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #10
    When I had 10.5.1, I installed. OMB.
    When I upgraded to 10.5.2, I uninstalled it with AppDelete.
    My menu bar was still opaque.
    I reinstalled OMB, and now I can't find it in Activity Monitor. The Terminal command doesn't work either.
    When I do a spotlight search, all that comes up is the app itself.

    Anyone have any other ideas?
     
  11. iCeFuSiOn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #11
    Run these commands in Terminal and restart your Mac, it should revert the Opaque Menu Bar hack.

    Code:
    sudo defaults delete /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.WindowServer 'EnvironmentVariables'
    sudo plutil -convert xml1 /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.WindowServer.plist
    sudo chmod 644 /System/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.apple.WindowServer.plist
    Hope this helps. :)
     
  12. vohdoun macrumors 65816

    vohdoun

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    Far away from Earth.
    #12
    For me, its not the usability point of view, well it is but a different kind of usability point of view. More like tacky looking with certain walls.

    I hate how it turns almost neon like with certain backgrounds. I find that distracting. Yes its a personal thing.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #13
    I posted a thread about another menu bar problem here:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=438932

    basically, even fully updated with all 10.5.2 updates, my Mac Pro with the 7300gt won't give me the option for a opaque menu bar. Any ideas why?
     
  14. ceezy3000 macrumors 6502

    ceezy3000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Location:
    The Valley!!
    #14
    should i trust this?
     
  15. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #15
    You shouldn't need to do this anymore. From 10.5.2 I believe it has been possible to enable/disable the translucency of the menubar through system preferences.

    System Preferences > Desktop & Screensaver > Desktop > Translucent Menu Bar

    :)
     
  16. Trip.Tucker Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008

Share This Page