Open Exe Files


GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
44,396
709
.exe files are Windows programs that cannot execute in OS X. To run Windows apps on your Mac, you need to install Windows via Boot Camp or use Parallels or VMware Fusion. If you don't have a Windows license, you can use CrossOver to run some applications. Not all Windows apps are compatible with CrossOver. Check their site for compatible apps. For more information about running Windows on your Mac, check out the Windows, Linux & other on the Mac forum.

Logitech G930 Wireless Headset Compatibility
 
Last edited:

bigboss10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 4, 2013
15
0
GGJ, what is my best bet to put these drivers on my MAC...I do not want to do trial and error and mess up my MAC...can you give me your opinion?

Thanks,
Steve
 

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
44,396
709
GGJ, what is my best bet to put these drivers on my MAC...I do not want to do trial and error and mess up my MAC...can you give me your opinion?

Thanks,
Steve
Check out the last link in my post. There you will find a thread where this is being discussed.
 

bigboss10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 4, 2013
15
0
still doesnt answer whether or not I can get 7.1 or the drivers on the MAC.
 

maflynn

Moderator
Staff member
May 3, 2009
65,063
30,991
Boston
still doesnt answer whether or not I can get 7.1 or the drivers on the MAC.
That headset is only supported for windows.
http://gaming.logitech.com/en-us/product/g930-7-1-wireless-gaming-headset

System Requirements
Windows® 8, Windows® 7, or Windows Vista®
USB port
Internet connection for optional software download**
You cannot use this with your MacBook Pro, unless you decide to install Windows on your laptop. The bottom line is that OSX cannot run programs with an extension of exe. You need a different operating system, specifically windows.
 

bigboss10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 4, 2013
15
0
Ok i understand now, if I were to do dual boot or have some way to put windows 7 on my mac.....can I do it that way?

Also can someone give me link to perform a way to boot windows 7 on my mac?

So i have the option, I heard about it...and would be interested in putting MAC as long as it wouldnt mess anything up.


Thanks,
Steve
 

GGJstudios

macrumors Westmere
May 16, 2008
44,396
709
Ok i understand now, if I were to do dual boot or have some way to put windows 7 on my mac.....can I do it that way?

Also can someone give me link to perform a way to boot windows 7 on my mac?
I already did, in my first post. Check out the link there for Boot Camp. By the way, it's "Mac", not "MAC", which means something different, and could cause confusion in some posts.
 

skolvikes

macrumors newbie
Mar 20, 2011
29
0
Look into the programs, "Wine" and "Crossover". It's entirely possible under certain circumstances.
 

bigboss10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 4, 2013
15
0
I just did some research and youtube some videos on the install, it seems very easy. But it does not seem as if the install is worth it and the headphones work great without the bootcamp/running drivers for the headset.

I always have the option down the road though, which is nice. I think Im just going to buy Lion and upgrade my 10.6.8 OSX (how do I see if im running regular lep or snow lep?)....

Also...is Lion that much better than my current OSX?

Thanks again...sorry I am a little new to mac. I had it for 3 years, but do only basic tasks. I am very good with computers, but some of the mac terms/system is just different. (not bad different, just still little new to me).


=)
 

snaky69

macrumors 603
Mar 14, 2008
5,904
481
I just did some research and youtube some videos on the install, it seems very easy. But it does not seem as if the install is worth it and the headphones work great without the bootcamp/running drivers for the headset.

I always have the option down the road though, which is nice. I think Im just going to buy Lion and upgrade my 10.6.8 OSX (how do I see if im running regular lep or snow lep?)....

Also...is Lion that much better than my current OSX?

Thanks again...sorry I am a little new to mac. I had it for 3 years, but do only basic tasks. I am very good with computers, but some of the mac terms/system is just different. (not bad different, just still little new to me).


=)
10.5 Leopard
10.6 Snow Leopard
10.7 Lion
10.8 Mountain Lion

Unless you need specific features that Lion or Mountain Lion have, I wouldn't bother upgrading, Snow Leopard is stable and fast, especially on older machines.

Lion is no longer sold by the way, you're about a year late for that.

Even if you do bootcamp, your headphone will only work when you're booted into Windows, so that won't help you at all getting it to run under OS X.
 

bigboss10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 4, 2013
15
0
thanks for the input ...i guess I will just stay put for now.

thanks guys

----------

i really wish Logitech will have MAC drivers for this headset in the coming months.....
 

Yahooligan

macrumors 6502a
Aug 7, 2011
965
113
Illinois
will virtualbox work?

my friend said it might work....any luck?
It may work if what you want to listen to is also run within that same virtual machine, but running the software inside a VM doesn't change anything outside of the VM. It's not like you can have the OS X audio driver send the signal though the VM drivers and back out the headset. It doesn't work that way.

They simply do not work with OS X, there's no way around it (at this time).
 

gngan

macrumors 68000
Jan 1, 2009
1,828
70
MacWorld
will virtualbox work?

my friend said it might work....any luck?
You are not getting it, do you?

Even if you install vitualbox, it would ONLY work in virtualbox (Window). The software (exe) is for Window installation. It's common sense that anything you install in Window won't work in Mac and anything you install in Mac won't work in Window. THEY ARE TWO SEPARATE OS!

Moreover, don't hope/wish Logitech to have Mac drivers. You should be doing your research or reading at the back of the box to see if it's compatible with Mac.
 

alphaod

macrumors Core
Feb 9, 2008
22,158
1,201
NYC
I think you should just get a different headset... one that is natively supported in OS X...
 

Dalton63841

macrumors 65816
Nov 27, 2010
1,449
5
SEMO, USA
I just did some research and youtube some videos on the install, it seems very easy. But it does not seem as if the install is worth it and the headphones work great without the bootcamp/running drivers for the headset.
So WHY exactly do you need the drivers installed? The point of the drivers is to make the headset work. If it DOES work, then there is no need for the drivers, as it is natively supported.
 

bigboss10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 4, 2013
15
0
They work only as stereo. ..if I get the drivets installed they work as 7.1 surround sound.
 

bigboss10

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 4, 2013
15
0
so I would have to use bootcamp and partion the HD.


Ughh dont wanna do it.
 

snaky69

macrumors 603
Mar 14, 2008
5,904
481
so I would have to use bootcamp and partion the HD.


Ughh dont wanna do it.
The drivers are for windows only, and will only function when you're in windows.

Installing windows through bootcamp will fix NOTHING for Mac OS X.

I hope we're being clear enough.
 

Stella

macrumors G3
Apr 21, 2003
8,312
4,768
Canada
Anyone got the G930 working under Parallels and Windows 8... I've installed the logitech drivers but just get "No Devices Detected".