Open in a new tab?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ARF900, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. ARF900 macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #1
    Is there a way to set Safari to automatically open links in new tab instead of a new window? Ive gone through preferences and I cant figure it out, i tried to google it and I know you can set it to open links from other apps in a new tab but it still opens web links in a new window?
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    It's there. Right under the general tab in prefs.
    Screen shot 2010-02-11 at 12.27.34 PM.png
     
  3. ethical macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    #3
    look at it again....

    it says "Open links from applications:"

    OP: By the looks of it it cant be done with Safari's own preferences. Perhaps a 3rd party script/plugin?.... although I don't know of any. Keep googling I guess.
     
  4. pit29 macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #4
    Or do you want to open links from other webpages always in a new tab? You can do this with the Glims plugin. http://www.machangout.com/.

    hgj.jpg
     
  5. mooblie macrumors 6502

    mooblie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    The Highlands, Scotland
    #5
    Right-click (*) any link in a page, and you can "Open Link in New Window..." or "Open Link in New Tab..."

    [​IMG]

    ( * = ctrl+click, if you're a one-button-mouse lover.)
     
  6. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #6
    Command-click
    Safari Preferences > Tabs
    check the box
     
  7. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #7
    In Terminal, enter

    defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool true

    You can always undo this with

    defaults write com.apple.Safari TargetedClicksCreateTabs -bool false
     
  8. ARF900 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #8
    This didnt work


    That did thanks.
     
  9. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #9
    Did you restart Safari after entering the Terminal command? It certainly works for me, unless I don't understand what you want.

    Really don't think you need any external software.
     
  10. ARF900 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ARF900

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    #10
    No, haha what a fail. Your right I bet it wouldve worked if I restarted. Thanks, but I already got the Glimms plugin
     

Share This Page