"Open in background" animation different?

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Bladery, Mar 31, 2016.

  1. Bladery, Mar 31, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2016

    Bladery macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #1
    Hey guys,

    whenever I open a new link in background, there are different animations happening.

    Case 1:
    The link (or the picture of the link) flies to the upper left corner and I can IMMEDIATELY scroll up or down.

    Case 2:
    The link jumps to the lower right corner and I have to wait till the animation finished till I can scroll up or down again.

    Does anyone notice that?
    What can I do that I always get case 1?

    Thanks!
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    I see both cases at times, haven't really figured out what causes one over the other (not that I really spent much time thinking about it).
     
  3. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #3
    Since iOS 9.3 I get case 2 more often unfortunately...
     
  4. nightstalkerz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    #4
    For case 1, what I normally do is:

    Open safari in portrait mode
    Turn on auto rotation
    Open the all tabs screen
    Rotate the phone to landscape
    Close the all tabs screen
    Open the all tabs screen
    Rotate back to portrait
    Close the all tabs screen


    You should be able to use the quick way until safari gets killed or crashes.


    This is one of the bugs that I hope Apple doesn't fix.
     
  5. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #5
    How did you come to do that?
     
  6. nightstalkerz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    #6
    I wanted to use landscape mode for Safari since iOS 8 but it was ridiciously buggy and eventually I found that links could open in the top left and Safari could be smooth again.
     
  7. Schtibbie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #7

    Um... On MY phone (iphone 6, ios 9.3), if the link happens to fly to the upper left, Safari freezes and must be killed via the task switcher. Annoying as hell. If it flies to buttom right, it works fine.
     
  8. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #8
    That's strange! Did you already update to 9.3.1?
     
  9. Schtibbie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #9
    Facepalm. Nevermind. I didn't realize 9.3.1 was out but I had been having the "open in background" safari crashing since an *earlier* version (pre-9.3), so I assumed this thread was just more talk about that. So now I've gotten 9.3.1 and i'll see if have any more "fly up left" crashes...
     
  10. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #10
    Why facepalm?! Legitimate question!
     
  11. Schtibbie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #11
    What I meant was: I complained about the safari open-in-background crash my phone does sometimes (when the animation flies to the upper left) before I realized after posting that y'all were talking about 9.3.1, which I didn't know was out. So the face palm was for myself. Now, I'm not sure 9.3.1 really fixed this issue (the articles I read now seem to not be about open-in-background). So we'll see...
     
  12. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #12
    Ah alright. All good ;-)

    Actually I wasn't talking about any version, just in general. Noticed that with 9.2, too
     
  13. electronicsguy macrumors 6502a

    electronicsguy

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Location:
    Pune, India
    #13
    You Sir, win the award today for the best "first world problem".
     
  14. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #14
    Haha cheers.
    As you may notices, there is a big thread going on about the animation problem with iOS since iOS 7.
    This is just a part of it.
     
  15. Schtibbie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    #15

    ...And it's still broken in 9.3.1. I'd say about 25% of the time I hold-and-click "Open in Background" on a link (so i can read that link *after* whatever article i'm reading right now), it flies to upper left instead of lower right, and completely locks up Safari until force-killed. I'm surprised they haven't fixed this yet!
     
  16. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #16
    This is even more annoying for you as it freezes! Damn Apple!

    What annoys me in general is that Apple gets SO MUCH feedback!
    1. All these diagnostics and usage feedback (which must be a lot with more than 1 billion users)

    2. Apple feedback through its forms (app in betas, Apple.com/feedback etc)

    3. All the forums in the Internet! You cannot say that they won't read the threads here. THey probably even have employees for that!

    Apple could create an almost (let's say 99 percent) bug free iOS!
     
  17. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    As a software developer myself, the big problem is that the bulk of feedback is probably completely devoid of detail. It's really common to get something like "when I try to open a report, I get an error". Which report? Which settings? What is the error? What OS are you running? Which version of the app? Getting all those details can be an exercise in frustration. While I'd certainly love to see fewer bugs, it's often easier said than done :(
     
  18. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #18
    Thanks for your input!

    Well, there are some bugs which are around for ages and members of MacRumors have reported them.
    I think that most of them have done it and will do so properly.

    And even when the case is like you described, Apple should ask questions!
     
  19. jaydisc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #19
    I have had this problem for a long time, still having it in iOS 9.3.2.

    Here's a video I made demonstrating it:



    I know some folks that have never experienced it though. Are those of you experiencing it using Content Blocks by chance? I am using 1Blocker and Hide and Seek
     
  20. gewawd macrumors member

    gewawd

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Location:
    Asia
    #20
    I, too, have been experiencing this problem for a long time now on my iPhone 6 Plus even back on iOS 8.X.

    I sent a bug report via bugreport.apple.com and within a few weeks of investigation, my case got closed as a duplicate of another issue. With the video you provided, I wasn't able to consistently reproduce the issue using your method since the issue happens at random times for me and I'm a tab hoarder.

    I use content blockers such as Purify, 1Blocker, and AdGuard but these are never activated at the same time.

    For troubleshooting purposes, I reset all settings on my iPhone, backup then restore on iTunes, and tweak my settings back to how they were used to. I still experience the issue but with a slightly less occurence.
     
  21. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #21
    But how they ask? Make a phone call? Send email? No matter whatever method they use, no user would respond, especially those care less about tech but frustrating when noticing bugs. Why Microsoft needs to force remote telemetry? User does not want to spend much time sending feedback so Microsoft needs to do it themselves.

    This is what our user deserves so I don't really mind they cannot fix those bugs. User should provide more info. Refer back to the moderator post before your post.
     
  22. jaydisc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #22
    Engineering has determined that your bug report (xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) is a duplicate of another issue (xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx) and will be closed.

    (Whoops. I'm mixing up my bug reports. Ignore the above)

    No delete post here?
     
  23. Bladery thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    #23
    Oh for sure they will answer! Those people who file a bug report, will definitely answer.
    Apple already do that some times. They asked me once for more help but that was it.
     

Share This Page