"Open in background" should be the first option when you click and hold a Safari link

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by TH55, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. TH55, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2012

    TH55 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #1
    I just realized that when I click and hold a link in Safari, 99.99% of the time I click "open in background". I almost never click "open", which is at the top of the menu that pops up when you click and hold a link, as simply clicking the link will do this much more quickly. Now that I think about it, why is "open" even an option? It's completely redundant and actually takes longer and significantly more work than simply clicking the link.

    Is there a tweak to make "open in background" the first option and put it at the top of the list, or a quicker/easier way to do this? I often click "open" by accident as it is at the top and the links are close together, which takes me away from my current page and I often lose my place; upon clicking back page it often refreshes and either takes me to the top and/or wipes clean any text I have input on message boards or other social networks.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. sammich macrumors 601

    sammich

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Location:
    Sarcasmville.
    #2
    All the time. Just like on a computer, I use tabs to save a page for reading later. If I'm reading the list of blog posts, I'll open the ones I find interesting then go to them when I've scanned all the recent ones.
     
  3. sjinsjca macrumors 68000

    sjinsjca

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    #3
    Almost always. Did to get to this thread while scrolling through the Forum Spy, for example. Lets it load and render while I browse.
     
  4. Vader macrumors 65816

    Vader

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    Saint Charles, MO
    #4
    I always click open in background, that's the only reason I hold down on a link rather than just clicking it.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    Especially handy for this. Also great for opening multiple 9gag's at the same time! ;)
     
  6. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #6

    Depending on the site. I may hold down the link to see where it's going to take me to. Unlike on a computer you can't mouse over a link to see the address. I think it's useful.

    If I'm navigating say macrumors and see the link points to another macrumors page. I'd click open rather then background.
     
  7. BobVB macrumors 6502a

    BobVB

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    #7
    Ok I give

    Mine says 'Open in New Page' on safari on iPad and iPhone.

    Update ah it's in the settings.
     
  8. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #8
    Does anyone read the body text? Obviously I didn't just want to know if anybody clicked "open in background", there was a second part to my question that wouldn't fit in the title of my op.
     
  9. oneapplegeek macrumors regular

    oneapplegeek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    #9
    always! Mine is now "open in a new page". I always have at least 5~6 pages opened. haha i don't wanna be redirected to the new site on the same page. :D:D
     
  10. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #11
    Again, did nobody read my op?
     
  11. b166er macrumors 68020

    b166er

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Location:
    Philly
    #12
    I don't believe there is a tweak to make that the default, although I have not extensively searched for one. If anyone knows of one, I too wouldn't mind having it. I use this almost every time on m phone, and 100% of the time on the iPad.
     
  12. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
    #13
    All the time - especially on MacRumors where I have the board as my main page and open up all the threads I want to read in the background.
     
  13. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #14
    Did you not read the second part of my post?
     
  14. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #15
    No. There is no tweak, at least not in the stock OS. Perhaps there might be one with a jailbreak.
     
  15. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #16
    That's what I meant
     
  16. newskin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #17
    If 99.99% is true, then look for sleipnizer in cydia. With it I just hold on the link and instead of a pop up menu coming up, it just opens in background automatically. :cool: check it out!
     
  17. TH55 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    #18
    Excellent thank you, exactly what I need. Are there any drawbacks or glitches associated with this?
     
  18. newskin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #19
    Your welcome, I haven't come across any at all. there is a lite version to try out, only comes with a few gestures and it's free. The full fledged one comes with a ton more gestures. I can navigate safari using only one finger now, it's great.
     

Share This Page