Open NAT Airport Express

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 0makol16, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. 0makol16 macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #1
    I was playing Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 and I noticed it said my NAT setting was "Strict", at first I ignored this since my Xbox shows the same thing but works flawlessly. Sadly when I searched for a game it took about 15 minutes to find one and connect, once I was in I was unbearably unplayable :(

    Anyone know how to open the NAT? I looked already on Google and had no luck. I should probably mention I was playing on my PC.
     
  2. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    Sorry to say, but there is nothing you can do. Its all depending on your isp(internetserviceprovider). I know im my neighborhood, we get a isp called crystal and when i played on my xbox i had moderate nat which made it hard for me to join some games. Right now im guessing this is why it takes me a few minutes to join a tf2 server. NAT= Network address translation. Some isps are more efficient at translating addresses while others are not
     
  3. 0makol16 thread starter macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #3
    thing is, the is NAT issue ONLY affects Modern Warfare 2 on PC. All my other PC/Mac games and Xbox game have no issues. Even my copy of MW2 on Xbox is fine.
     
  4. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #4
    Yeah sorry about that, you could possibly check your router and allow the tcp ports of mw2. Anyways i fixed my tf2 long wait to join a servers. If your willing to do some short work(not that hard) this *fix* might fix your mw2 problems.
     
  5. 0makol16 thread starter macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #5
    anyone else have an input or solutions for this problem :confused:
     
  6. 0makol16 thread starter macrumors regular

    0makol16

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Location:
    Diamond Bar, California
    #6
    sorry about bumping but I really need help with this. :(
     
  7. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    As i said before, we can fix this but youll have to do a bit of typing in terminal and than adding a file into hidden folders.

    Also, the other option costs money, and that would be buying a new cisco wireless router.
     

Share This Page