Open Port 21

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Jeremyboy222, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. Jeremyboy222 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #1
    Hi,


    I have a problem..
    I need to open port 21 from my Airport Express.
    I already configured this in my Airport Configuration Program.
    But it isn't working when I check it on canyouseemee.org.

    Can someone help me?

    Best Regards,
    Jeremyboy222
     
  2. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #2
    TCP port 21 is for ftp. Do you have an ftp server running? Can you connect to it locally? Can you connect to it from other machines on your network? Did you forward from the router to the correct IP address? Is there another router between the express and the internet?

    And don't use ftp. Use SFTP, which is provided by SSH on port 22.
     
  3. Jeremyboy222 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #3
    Dear,

    Thanks for the response..
    I was on holiday for a couple of days so I don't looked at this topic anymore.
    I realy need the port 21..
    There's a D-Link between Express and the internet...

    Best Regards,
    Jeremyboy222
     
  4. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #4
    There's your problem. Make sure the express is set to bridged mode (and therefore port routing on it is irrelevant), and set up port routing on the D-link.
     
  5. Jeremyboy222 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #5
    Hi,


    Thanks but there's something strange..
    If I use my 'Emergency' Router, Port 21 works fine..
    But that 'Emergency' router is also connected with the D-Link.

    And I think the D-Link is a HUB..


    Best Regards,
    Jeremyboy222
     
  6. Jeremyboy222 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    #6
    Guys,


    I have tried to connect my router directly to the Modem, But port 21 don't wanna go open.. :(

    I don't know anymore..

    Best Regards,
    Jeremyboy222
     
  7. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #7
    It's possible your ISP is blocking port 21. Try other ports.
     
  8. daftpunkstu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    #8
    bridge mode would mean ports wouldn't have to be opened. could be your ISP blocking the port. try a different one
     

Share This Page