Opened my new Mac Mini - some info

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by tobyg, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. tobyg macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #1
    The CPU is not socketed. It can not be changed.

    There is a little, what appears to be, temperature sensor on the front of the hard drive. If you change your hard drive, you'll have to remove this and stick it on the new hard drive. It's just stuck on with some double sided tape.

    Also confirmed - upgrade from 1GB to 2GB and I now get 256MB VRAM.

    3DMark2006 v1.10 scores:

    Mac Mini 2.0ghz 1GB RAM - Single 1GB DIMM (128MB VRAM)
    3DMarks : 1502
    SM2.0 : 525
    HDR/SM3.0 Score : 551
    CPU Score : 1772

    Mac Mini 2.0ghz 4GB RAM - 2x2GB DIMMS (256MB VRAM)
    3DMarks : 1932
    SM2.0 : 691
    HDR/SM3.0 Score : 712
    CPU Score : 1816
     
  2. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #2
    oh wow, no end user processor upgrades down the road?

    that could be a shame depending on who you are :(

    ah well, i'm still waiting to hear from those who get it if the 2.26 will be enough along with the new graphics card to make sure that 1080p files will not studder

    thanks for the info :)
     
  3. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #3
    I use the latest 1.86 SSD MacBook Air and 1080p is not an issue with Plex. So, the Mac Mini will be fine as a HTPC.
     
  4. shinchan72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #4
    What type of RAM do the new mac mini's use ?

    I''m going to grab the 599 for my youngest who has a decent monitor already. Going to upgrade to 2gb or maybe 4 depending on price and dual boot XP for a few of his games and Unreal and WoW he can play inside OS X.

    (he's 6 and not a graphics whore so the elitist who want to start screaming about the 9400m not running WoW or Unreal please dont bother)
     
  5. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #5
    I just bought the $599 model as well.. do you have a guide to take the mac mini apart?
     
  6. shinchan72 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #6
    Let me know how it goes JJ - I'm just curious how much of an ordeal it is to add RAM to the thing
     
  7. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #7
    i think you need to check out ifixit.com
     
  8. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #8
    How do you get into the new mini. The last time I worked on one was the old G4 mini and you opened them with Spackle spreaders. Is it easier to get into these? Do they use laptop hard drives or desktop drives? Is it laptop ram or desktop ram? (picture looks like laptop ram)

    Cheers,
     
  9. robotartfashion macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    from what i've heard/seen you still use a spatula/putty knife, its pretty much the same case, laptop hard drives and laptop memory, just like all of mac's products except the macpro
     
  10. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #10
    A processor upgrade, or lack thereof is actually not uncommon for most of Apple's line. However, the hard drive seems to be a slight issue, just a slight. Anyone with a little ability can probably take care of it, but they seem to be making it difficult.
     
  11. tobyg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #11
    Same way, but it did seem a bit easier. Maybe those plastic clips aren't as hard. I made two TINY little scratch marks on the metal/plastic where I slid the putty knife in...

    It's almost impossible not to mark it. I wish I had some plastic shims, those would probably help a lot.
     
  12. cleric macrumors 6502a

    cleric

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #12
    Well the VRAM is good news. The cpu not so much but oh well.
     
  13. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #13
    I got as far as opening the mac mini up with the putty knife and removing the casing.. but other than that there are 4 screws right?? What else do you need to get the top part opened??

    could you help?
     
  14. OneMike macrumors 601

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #14
    yea the 256MB with the ram upgrade is good news. Makes the top end mini not worth it IMO.
     
  15. tobyg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #15
    4 screws, and then unhook a ribbon cable in back.. then move the two back antennas out of the way (unhook from the top) and lift slowly and unhook the front antenna. That's about it.
     
  16. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #16
    Yeah DDR3 RAM and 2.5" HDDs are cheaper these days. I paid an arm and a leg for both back in October. There is no reason the higher end Mini should be so expensive. Hell you can get a 7k320 2.5" Hitachi HDD for $59.98 after $20 MIR or a 5k320 2.5" Hitachi for $49.99 after $10 MIR these days on Newegg. The DDR3 RAM is $52.99 for Crucial 2X2GB at Newegg.

    So you start with the Low End MM for $599 add the 5k320 HDD for $49.99 and 4GB of RAM for $52.99.

    Total 2GHz MM, 5k320 HDD, 4GB DDR3 RAM for $701.98 and an extra HDD/RAM to do what you want with. Or $711.97 for the 7k320 HDD.
     
  17. tobyg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #17
    Posted some 3DMark scores in the first post of this thread.
     
  18. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #18
    Agreed, just bought the Crucial ram and already have 7200rpm 500GB Seagate in external housing.

    Now I just need to decide to pull the trigger on the mini. I really want a iMac but I already have 20" 1600x1200 Samsung, 22" Dell 1920x1080 HDCP & 24" Samsung 1920x1200 HDCP monitors so I have a real hard time justifying another 20" or 24" all in one, especially since the mini is probably fine for my Word, Excel, Acrobat Pro and occasional Windows under VMware work.

    Finger almost pressing submit order button...

    Cheers,
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    why is it normally 128MB?? or is it always that with 1GB?

    geez even the old mac mini could play 1080p content without stuttering :rolleyes:
     
  20. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #20
    Does it look like another hard drive could fit in place of the optical drive? I'm sure the screws wouldn't align, but that's why we have Velcro, right? ;)
     
  21. tobyg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #21
    It came with 1GB. I bought a 4GB kit. Confirmed just putting a single 2GB in (and removing the stock 1GB chip), it bumped up to 256MB VRAM. But then I put the other 2GB chip in to do more tests, and of course even with 4GB it's 256MB VRAM.

    Yes, if you've read about this all day, its 128MB VRAM which is shared with your systems main ram when you only have 1GB of RAM. 2GB or greater, the system automatically takes 256MB of that for VRAM.
     
  22. tobyg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #22
    Sure, but the SATA port isn't the same as the one for the HD. I doubt you'd get that to work without some sort of adapter. It uses the same sata connector that I've seen on sata optical drives now a days.
     
  23. TechWhore macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    #23
    Can you confirm what brand you bought and cost?
     
  24. tobyg thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #24
    Oh I paid a lot. I bought a 4GB Patriot kit at Fry's. $90 for the kit.

    But I wanted it today, not in a few days. :)

    I had to return the first kit I bought to Fry's. One of the 2GB modules didn't work (Which is why I only tested with 2GB at first, one module was broke). Exchanged it this evening and the new kit is working.
     
  25. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC

Share This Page