OpenGL Cinebench score almost halved in vista bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by joaomario, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. joaomario macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #1
    I just got a brand new Macbook Pro 15" 2.8ghz with Nvidia 9600 GT 512mb discrete card. Using Cinebench On Mac OS X I get an OpenGL score of around 6050 but on windows vista 32bit I get a measily 3600! I've already updated windows with sp1 and windows found an up to date nvidia graphics driver, better then what was on the bootcamp cd. But still, why the low benchmark!?

    I only have windows on this machine because I need to run two windows programmes, Autocad and 3DS MAX, both demand good graphics performance. 3ds max viewport is laggy with a complicated model. Can anyone suggest a way to increase my graphics score/performance in windows?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #2
    That graphics driver wasn't from laptopvideo2go.com was it? If so, uninstall it completely and download the real driver from the official Nvidia website.
     
  3. joaomario thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #3
    No it wasn't from laptopvideo2go it was from the official site. I initially tried installing windows 7 rc but I attributed the low benchmark then to it being a new OS. But there is enough support out there to get higher scores on vista no??

    Stridder44 I see on your signature you've got a Macbook pro, have you got the 512mb nvidia 9600 card and are you running bootcamp? If so can you PLEASE do a cinebench test for me. I'm mainly interested in the OpenGL score so if you are in a rush just do the opengl test. Can anyone else with a similar spec check as well please? thanks soo much.

    http://download.cnet.com/Cinebench/3000-2193_4-35705.html
     
  4. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #4
    I actually have the early '08 MBP, which has the 8600M GT. But I ran the OpenGL test for you anyway and got 5247. But that was before I restarted, which then it was 4760. Honestly, most benchmarking apps are to be taken with a grain of salt. They never really compare to real world stats.
     
  5. joaomario thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #5
    Thanks a lot for for doing that benchmark for me. your higher scores give me hope that there might be a solution to my problem. If you have the lower clocked 8600 there is no way my 9600 should be giving me such poor results. out of curiosity, what version of windows are you running?

    Another problem I get is 4 times out of 5 the little 3d movie goes blank and on the window bar says "(Not Responding)" then after a few seconds the programme comes back to life and the score is displayed. I have only been able to get the movie to play for the full duration once in windows mode. it plays it every time over in os x. I tried downloading and extracting it from two sources, cnet and the official maxon site so it's probably not the software.

    I'm waiting for a phone back from apple support. Hopefully they can come up with something. In real world terms 3ds max 2010 is displaying models of medium complexity with annoying lag.
     
  6. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Well the score I posted was under Leopard 10.5.8. I ran the score under Windows (7 RTM 64-bit) with the latest Nvidia driver from Nvidia themselves.

    For the 32-bit version I got 3975, and the 64-bit version gave me 3676. I re-ran the tests several times, each time getting a higher number. I even restarted and re-ran the test and each time got a higher number. I've never been fond of benchmarking apps. =\
     
  7. joaomario thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #7
    So annoying. When I run cinebench in os x i constantly get scores around the 6000 mark but mine also fluctuate in windows. Why is the graphics performance in windows so compromised!? We're not relying on mac's drivers to get this card to work, we've downloaded them right from the graphics card manufacturer. What else could it be?!
     
  8. joaomario thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    #8
    I've just spoken to apple support. They've taken some time to look in to it and have come back saying there is nothing they can do. As far as they are concerned it is an issue with windows. Since the graphics card works fine on os x they are not responsible for how it runs on windows. This is as feared and as expected. I might actually have to return this computer.
     

Share This Page