OpenGL on new mac mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by VideoBeagle, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. VideoBeagle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #1
    This might not even be the right question to ask, or the right way to phrase it...but do the new Mac Minis with the intel chip, have OpenGl support?

    If yes, anyone have any performance info?
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    This is a screenshot from the OpenGL Driver Monitor App in the Developer Tools Folder.
    I don't know anything about OpenGL and whether it is enabled yes or no, maybe it will tell you more than I.

    Edit: And a complete Text Output file.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #3
    Well it's there...Thanks for the info!

    Have you used your mini for any 3d graphic stuff? programs or games?
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    No, not really, don't play many games nor do 3D stuff.
     
  5. benwiggy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #5
    I play a few games that use OpenGL: Oolite, Armagedtron, and they run perfectly well.
    I also use a few hobbyist 3D apps -- Inventor Fusion, Sweet Home 3D, 3D Toolbox, Sketchup.
    All fine for moderate work.
     
  6. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
  7. Madd the Sane macrumors 6502

    Madd the Sane

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    Utah
    #7
    All modern Macs have OpenGL support. Some may have better performance than others, but even Intel Integrated Graphics can take advantage of OpenGL.

    Know that, as a general rule, Intel graphics cards aren't the best. Haswell may change that, but no Macs use that CPU yet.
     

Share This Page