OpenGL Problems with Macbook/GMA X3100

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Woob, May 12, 2008.

  1. Woob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #1
    Recently returned from school where I had my 22inch Samsung LCD as an extended display. Warcraft III doesn't seem to be working anymore, I keep getting the same issue of "Warcraft III was unable to initialize OpenGL. Please ensure that you have OpenGL installed ...." Do I need to get new drivers from intel? Or could it be me having another LCD.

    This is for a Macbook Core 2 Duo 2.2, Leopard, 4 Gig RAM, GMA X3100
     
  2. KompleX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Downey, CA
    #2
    sounds like warcraft is launching at a resolution that is unsupported by your macbook's lcd. try setting the resolution at or below 1280 by 800 in the game's configuration files.
     
  3. Woob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #3
    Just tried reinstalling, now I just quit errors when trying to load Wc3 or FT. How would I go by adjusting the game resolution settings without getting into the program?
     
  4. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #4
    Did you do all the Apple updates, including the MacBook EFI Firmware one?
     
  5. Woob thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2007
    #5
    Yes everything updated. Had the same OpenGL issues before and after the firmware update.
     
  6. KompleX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Location:
    Downey, CA
    #6
    since you reinstalled the game and are still experiencing the same issue, then i would assume that the configuration files are buried outside the game folder. look in the preferences folder for any file containing the name warcraft and trash it.

    in windows there is a registry trick to force the game to run at a specified resolution. read up on it here:
    http://www.overclock.net/pc-games/305554-how-force-warcraft-3-display-high.html

    i'm sorry but i don't have the game to test any of this out.
     

Share This Page