OpenGL Versioning?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Michael Goff, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. Michael Goff, Jul 9, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012

    Michael Goff macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #1
    How do I check what version of OpenGL my chipset is running/supports? I have been told that Intel is bad with the support, and I'd rather be safe than sorry.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    System Profiler > Software > Frameworks

    Also, you may have better success in attracting responses to your thread, and you'll make your thread easier to find for those browsing the forum for the same answers, if you change your thread title to something more descriptive. To do so, click the "Edit" button on your original post, then click "Go Advanced" and you will see where to edit the thread title.
     
  3. Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #3
    Thanks.

    1.8? I didn't think I was that far behind. ::sadness::
     
  4. midtownhd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
  5. Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #5
    Wow, it's kind of sad support for such a new Mac. I think it's Intel's fault.
     
  6. Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #6
    Just figured out that I'm wrong. There is nothing about Intel that stops the support of OpenGL, it is all Apple. Does anyone know why they do this? I really like this computer, I really do. I know that the HD 4000 can do better than this, though, because people are able to play some of the same games on a Windows partition.

    It's because the driver isn't "up-to-date" enough.

    Any way I can fix this manually, like I would on my Asus?
     
  7. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #7
  8. Michael Goff, Jul 13, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2012

    Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #8
  9. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #9
    That's the internal driver version. Not the version of OpenGL the driver supports :cool:

    You want to download this....

    http://www.realtech-vr.com/glview/

    That will tell you what you want to know.
     
  10. Michael Goff, Jul 13, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2012

    Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #10
    [​IMG]

    This is still apparently not good enough to play CK 2. >_>
     
  11. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #11
    Change 'compatibility' up the top there, to 'core'.
    Run it again.
     
  12. Michael Goff, Jul 13, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 13, 2012

    Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #12
    [​IMG]

    For some reason, CK2 still runs like a fat man in summertime.
     
  13. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #13
    Is CK2 a native game for OSX? Or does it use Cider or something similar?

    It's also possible they're not using the new OpenGL features in Lion. I see it lists 10.6.8 as supported, so this is likely.
     
  14. Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #14
    No, no, it's native.

    Here is what they said on their forum"

     
  15. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #15
    Looks like they're using compatibility profile (2.1) instead of core (3.2). It'll be up to them to re-write code on their end to make use of the new features.

    It doesn't look like it uses OpenGL at all on windows.
     
  16. Michael Goff thread starter macrumors G4

    Michael Goff

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #16
    Nope, it uses DirectX.
     
  17. JordanNZ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #17
    And DX9 too by the looks of things. OpenGL 3.2 core is on par with DX10 feature wise. So there isn't any reason why they shouldn't be able to get it running well with a bit of work. Perhaps they have run into some driver bugs. But it's hard to tell what the issues are.

    Fingers crossed all parties involved sort out the issues you're having :)
     

Share This Page