Opening 27' iMac, need to upgrade ram

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iRukiri, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. iRukiri macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #1
    I'm purchasing the new i7 quad core iMac next week and I want to upgrade the ram myself and save money! I know that apple charges way to much for ram that's why I want to do it myself, however it's an all in one and I don't want to break it either..

    I want to upgrade the standard 4GB to 8GB 2X4.

    If there is already another topic like this and how to upgrade the imac let me know!

    - Rukiri
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    It's a user-accessable upgrade as per this Apple document. I imagine there is a very similar diagram supplied with the machine itself.
     
  3. iRukiri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
  4. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #6
    tough the iMac is using one of the most expensive ram available
    my mate who has one and asked me to get him the right ram for his new iMac, because he did want to have it upgraded to the max 16gb and he did want crucial , he thought i was kidding when i told him the price of just over £600 which is ~$1000

    but still a lot cheaper then if you upgrade direct when you order the iMac with 16gb then apple is charging £1145 extra which is ~$1700
    but funny thing if you only order it with 8gb then apple is charging only
    £163 if you choose 4x2gb
    £491 if you chose 2x4gb
    he got angry now because he did not chose the cheap 8gb option when ordering , because i told him it would be sufficient for what he does on the iMac , i mean looking up ebay and watching the odd youtube musikvideo and chatting had been the most demanding things he did on a computer in the last 10 years
    ok i understand him it sounds better in a chatroom if you can tell people "i have a iMac 27" i7 with 16gb ram "then if it has only 4gb
    and i give him anyway only max 4 month then he sells it again because he found something more interesting ...maybe i buy the iMac of him as he's already talking about how nice the macbook pro 17" is
     
  5. i7QuadCoreMania macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #7
    I am going to vouch for Crucial, I have upgraded the ram in the i7 and my Dell Mini 10v with crucial the lifetime warranty is peace of mind.

    I ordered my i7 with 4gigs and replaced both modules with 4 2gig crucial, I know it's not necessary, but I wanted all matching modules, probably would never need to upgrade to 16gb unless it's really really cheap.

    I ran the apple hardware test twice after the upgrade and it passed with fly colors.:D
     
  6. bizack macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    #8
    There's absolutely no need to have matching modules. Matching pairs, yes. Matching modules, no.

     
  7. Mike Macintosh macrumors regular

    Mike Macintosh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #9
    I would also like to add that although this helps, its good to have a visual representation as well to help out, and as you can see it's quite easy.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/installvideos/imac_late_2009/
    *Edit: wrong vid before sorry
     
  8. Camzor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #10
    If I ordered my computer stock, what does it contain? 2x2GB, I assume? Would Best Buy then sell the two others that I need (in store, not online), or will I need to also replace the two that came with the computer?
     
  9. epheterson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    South Florida
    #11
    It's very important that you get SODIMM, better known as laptop memory. These are the short sticks, not the full length.

    Also, check out newegg.com, often much cheaper than many other retailers.

    Apple has a page of specific criteria to check before ordering. You'll have fair warning if you order a stick that doesn't meet this criteria: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3912
     
  10. epheterson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    South Florida
    #12
    You have four slots, so you can leave the two 2GBs in and get two more (2GB or 4GB) sticks. You can do this yourself, without Best Buy and it will be (much) cheaper to order online than go to Best Buy.
     
  11. i7QuadCoreMania macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    #13
    I already said I know it's not necessary, besides, I can resell my stock modules to pay for the crucial ones it replaced.:rolleyes:

    In my mind I rather pay a little more to have all the ram chips from same manufacturer/exact matching chips.
     
  12. MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #14
    i total agree , in terms of ram its always good to go for quality instead of cheap

    crucial ram has a good reputation ,and delivers fast if you order via their website
    but kingston ram has a good reputation too ,and thats what i use in my mac's
    corsair ram has a good reputation too

    ok i don't use the value ram packs
    and all of the above are offering a lifetime warranty
    btw ocz ram is also worth looking at
     
  13. xboxbuckeye macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    #15
    Total newbie question on Apples with upgrading RAM - I am assuming this does not void your warranty / Apple care?
     
  14. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    Unless you break anything, it doesn't void coverage.
     
  15. msw123307 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    #17
  16. RomeoPapaKilo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Location:
    West Sussex, UK
  17. iRukiri thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    #19
    I ordered my iMac the other day, arrives Tuesday. I'm gonna buy apple care though for all my Mac products.
     

Share This Page